Archer Library Guides most often serve as a starting point for student research. Library guides help users navigate the complex library and information landscape. But that's not all! Guides are also designed for library instruction sessions, developed to provide course or assignment resources, curate event and program information, and support library events, workshops, and presentations.
Archer Library guides generally fall into one of these four categories:
Research Guides • Focus on specific subject areas and typically include library materials, eBooks, database recommendations, and internet resources.
Course or Program Guides • Provide information and resources to support programs, courses, projects, or assignments.
Library Instruction Guides • Developed to be used in conjunction with library instruction sessions. Guides remain available to students even after they complete their course.
General Topic Guides • Provide information on library events, workshops, presentations, and general topics of interest to library users.
Explore these featured guides to learn more about our library guides.
 |
First Year Seminar [Posner] 2023This library guide supports FYS • First Year Seminar with Dr. Posner. It is a starting point for locating Archer Library information and resources selected for course assignments. Here you will find: Library Databases & Research Starters; the A to Z Database List; eBook Collections & Suggested Titles; Library Catalog, & Suggested Titles; and AI Tools & Research Starters |
 |
ENG 371 • Literature & FilmThis library guide supports ENG 371: Literature & Film. It is a starting point for locating Archer Library information and resources selected to support course assignments. Library collections such as books, e-books, databases and articles, are introduced. Two frameworks for evaluating information, R.A.D.A.R. and S.I.F.T. are presented for student use. |
 |
EDEC 262 • Foundations in Literacy K-9This is a library instruction and course assignment guide. Three instruction sessions, database research (jigsaw), catalog searching (active learning), and an IRC scavenger hunt (experiential learning) are presented. Library resources and information supporting literacy based topics research, lesson planning, and teaching strategies are provided. Information literacy frames, knowledge practices, and dispositions, are identified. |
 |
M.Ed. Adult EducationM.Ed. Research Adult Education is a program guide with information and resources for EDAE 501, 503, 505,601, & 603. Students are introduced to library databases, the library catalog and eBooks, resources for evaluating information and journal types, Machi & McEvoy's Literature Review Model, and how librarians support the research process. A 'Voices in Adult Education' section was developed at the request of course professors; it highlights five scholars. |
 |
XR / VR Conference Room • Learning ProjectThis guide is a starting point for information supporting the XR/VR Conference room. Here you will find details related to the project, as well as demonstrations, workshops, and events scheduled to introduce the technology resources. What we are doing with XR/VR/MR; Meet LearnAU and Archer Library members of the XR/VR Team; Learn more about our Microsoft HoloLens; and Review the Event Calendar. Visit the XR/VR Resources site to learn more about the technology. |