We provide a variety of instruction session types, including in-person, online, synchronous, and asynchronous videos and tutorials. Librarians are available to collaborate with instructors to design and customize sessions that support course integrated library instruction.
Explore the library instruction sessions presented below to find one, or more, that best suits to your course, program, or assignment. Overviews are included with each option, most provide references and narrative supporting the Framework.
Curious as to how instruction is received by students and faculty?
Review a few of our recent testimonials from students and faculty participating in library sessions.
Not finding what you envisioned for your course?
Contact a member of the instruction team to discuss your needs. We look forward to hearing from you.
Introducing Archer Library |
Library Scavenger Hunts |
|
| An overview of the library web site, catalog, databases, eBooks, and library guides. Session includes an introduction to OhioLINK and using Interlibrary Loan services. Great option for students new to the library and research. | Often facilitated by a library department, such as the Instructional Resource Center or reference, students are purposefully introduced to collections, resources, and library support. This activity is specific to course assignments. | |
Subject Connected Instruction |
Assignment Connected Instruction |
|
| Sessions feature discipline related library collections and resources; best practices for subject area research are introduced. Students are encouraged to seek multiple perspectives during information gathering and assessment. Librarians collaborate with instructors to identify outcomes, knowledge practices, and dispositions. | Librarians collaborate with instructors (SME) to develop sessions that support identified assignment outcomes. Instruction may include databases, library catalog search, research management, and content evaluation. Follow-up sessions may be planned or requested to further explore concepts. |
Evaluating Information |
Evaluating Journal Types |
|
| Students are introduced to criteria and questions used to evaluate information, including websites, books, journal articles, and images. Students explore resources and draw their own information conclusions. Librarians collaborate with faculty to determine the scope of research explored during the session. | Sessions provide an overview of three journal types commonly used in the research process. Students are introduced to characteristics of each and apply criteria to search results. Students work individually or in groups during learning activity. Librarians collaborate with faculty to select subject specific databases. | |
Managing Database Research |
Advanced Database Searching |
|
| Often partnered with Introduction to Library Databases instruction, this session focuses on research management in conjunction with Google Drive and EBSCO databases. Best practices for saving research are presented and students are encouraged to manage searching processes and results effectively. |
Students use various research methods, based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry. Strategies including Boolean operators, truncation and wildcard, selecting search fields, and use of quotation marks are covered. Often a follow-up session to Introduction to Library Databases. |
Introduction to Library Databases |
Archer Library Catalog & OhioLINK |
|
| Overview of Archer Library's A to Z Database list, subject-specific databases, and conducting basic keyword searches. Session includes opportunity for students to understand how databases are organized, explore search language options, and redefine strategies as needed based on initial search results. Advanced Searching is recommended as a follow-up session. | Overview of Archer Library's catalog, discerning differences between the catalog and OneSearch, conducting keyword and subject searches, and using OhioLINK. Session includes opportunity for students to understand how the catalog is organized, explore search options, and refine results (e.g. location) as needed. Using OneSearch is recommended as a partner session. | |
Introduction to eBook Collections |
Introduction to OneSearch |
|
| Overview of Archer Library's eBook collections, identifying collection resources, and conducting searches. Session provides opportunity for students to investigate how eBooks function in different platforms, identify usage options, and use different types of search language. Using OneSearch and Archer Library Catalog are beneficial partner sessions. | OneSearch, Archer Library's discovery layer, is introduced. This comprehensive search tool facilitates access to most library collections using a single search box. Session provides opportunity for students to match information needs and search strategies to the appropriate tool and recognize the value of browsing different collections. |