Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archer Library Orientation: Welcome to Archer Library

This guide provides an introduction to Archer Library Resources & Information
Archer Library Orientation banner image: instruction classroom photo

Welcome

Welcome to Archer Library

This library orientation site is a library guide, an online resource designed to support Archer Library's orientation sessions. Library instruction takes place in the Bernice Faber Baker Active Learning Classroom, located on Archer library's main floor.

Orientation sessions purposefully introduce students to in-person and online collections, research databases, and library support. Students are encouraged to investigate library resources during collaborative group activities, and reflect on how learning may impact future research.

AU Library online

 

Library Orientation • Introducing Archer Library

Participants complete a guided scavenger hunt activity focused on four topics: Archer Library Online, Research Basics, Library Collections, and Library Guides. Group share their results demonstrating how the starting point was accessed, answering general questions, and reflecting on topic specific questions. Exit tickets are completed at the conclusion of the session.

Database Orientation • OneSearch & Academic Search Complete

This guided scavenger hunt activity provides participants with an opportunity to explore library databases, OneSearch and Academic Search Complete, and learn beginning search strategies. Participants complete a guided scavenger hunt focused on basic database skills including selecting limiters, locating full-text options, citing bibliographic information, and submitting information requests. Groups share their research results and reflect on the resource most beneficial to their research. Exit tickets are completed at the conclusion of the session.


Questions? We can help

Guide Resources: If you have questions about any of the Archer Library resources presented in this guide, or need help using them, feel free to contact me via email at dschreck@ashland.edu.

Online Help: Ask a Librarian chat is available for help during reference hours; a chat widget is located on this page. You may also email a member of the reference team at library@ashland.edu.

Interested in scheduling an appointment? We are here to help you craft and manage effective search strategies, locate articles in library databases, use OhioLINK and Interlibrary loan, and more. Fill out this online help form to get started.

Curriculum & Intruction Librarian

Diane Schrecker

 

Diane Schrecker, MLIS, M.Ed.

Curriculum Librarian
Head of the IRC

✉ dschreck@ashland.edu
☏ 419.207.6406


IRC, 2nd floor
Archer Library
Ashland University
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805

✉ irc-aulib@ashland.edu
☏ 419.289.5406

 

Stay Connected!


 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC Web 

Usage Tips

Exploring this Library Guide

Navigate this guide using the tabs located at the top of the page; several include drop-down menu options with additional information.

Select a tab to review page contents and use the arrow to locate corresponding topics. Feel free to download, print, and save any handouts provided.