Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Ed.D. Research • Doctoral Program in Leadership Studies: Using Google Scholar

Library resources for Ed.D. research, locating dissertations, and an introduction to the library mentor program.

Library Databases & Google Scholar


Library Databases & Google Scholar

Not all research is created equal; take time to make informed research decisions.

Google Scholar

Google scholar is a good resource for general - and wide - coverage of a topic. Indexed are “research articles and abstracts from most major academic publishers and repositories worldwide, including both free and subscription sources” (Google Scholar). Not all of what is found will be accessible to users, nor will it be appropriate for research purposes. Even after adjusting settings to return Archer Library results, only a small percentage of resources available to Archer Library users will be returned in Google Scholar.


Library Databases

Archer Library databases provide results of a higher quality for research. Within a library database, you have access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field. They also include other published works such as practitioner journals, magazines, newspapers, images, and primary sources.

Selecting a subject specific database, such as Education Research Complete or Education Full Text, will provide solid research results. When determining to search more than one resource, make the selection within the database or use OneSearch.


OneSearch (Discovery Layer)

OneSearch is Archer Library’s discovery layer; it provides opportunity for users to search multiple library collections including Ebsco and other selected databases, Archer Library and OhioLINK catalog records, e-book collections, and digital resources in a single search box. OneSearch “features and functionality that guide a student to select, evaluate and implement relevant and reliable information in an ethical manner” (Ebsco, 2019) while conducting research.


 

References

Google. (n.d.). Google Scholar search tips: Content coverage. Retrieved January 9, 2020 from https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html#coverage

Ebsco Discovery Service (2020). The Google generation is at your library’s door: How (information) literate are today’s college students? [White Paper]. Retrieved from https://www.ebsco.com/sites/g/files/nabnos191/files/acquiadam-assets/The-Google-Generation-is-at-Your-Library-Door-White-Paper.pdf

Ebsco Industries, Inc. (2019, June 12). Breaking Down Discovery Platforms and Information Literacy [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://www.ebsco.com/blog/article/breaking-down-discovery-platforms-and-information-literacy


Define Google Scholar Settings


Follow these steps to define search settings and locate article resources available from Archer Library at Ashland University. You must have cookies enabled in your browser for settings to be applied. If your browser is set to remove cookies after closing the browser, you will need to define these settings with each subsequent use. Consider signing in to a Google account, either your personal or AU account, to save settings.

Navigate to Google Scholar


On the Google Scholar home page, select the hamburger menu located at the top left corner of the page; choose settings from the menu options. A new screen will open   Google Scholar Settings

 

Locate and select Library Links from the left sidebar menu. As noted, it is possible to search for and save up to five library resources. We will search for and select Ashland University.

 

Remember, "online access library subscriptions is usually restricted to patrons of that library."  This is the case when setting up Ashland University as a library link.

  Library Links

 

 

Find Through AU Library - will appear as an option below the search box.

Place a check mark in the box next to Find through AU Library and SAVE. Remember, cookies must be turned on to save settings.

Enter Ashland University into the search box and conduct the search.

  Find through AU Library

 


Conduct a Google Scholar Search


Enter the search term:

 

Stephen Brookfield critical thinking

  Google Scholar search

Look for: Find through AU Library

 

Google Scholar returned 15,500 results (removing patents and citations reduces the number to 14,900).

Two of the articles on the initial results page:

Assessing Critical Thinking, and
Critically Reflective Practice.

have Find through AU Library designations.

To view Assessing Critical Thinking, click on the Find through AU Library link.

  Scholar results

 


Authenticate to view Off-Campus

 

If working off campus, you will need to authenticate with Archer Library using the Off-Campus Login page.

Enter your Ashland University username and password; these are the same credentials you use to login to Blackboard and AU email.

Login to continue.

  Login from off-campus

 


Full Text Finder


You will be directed to AU Library's Full Text Finder.

If the article is available in more than one database, options will display. In this instance, Assessing Critical Thinking is available in full-text from Wiley.

Select the Wiley link to view the article.

  Full text finder

Viewing the Article

 

Assessing Critical Thinking
by, Stephen Brookfield

 

Wiley Online Library access is available to you through Archer Library.

Abstract: "The author discusses the process of critical thinking and his belief that it is social process, then offers three locally grounded strategies for assessing critical thinking: experiential, behavioral, and conversational."

In addition to the abstract and article, metrics are available including number of time cited and references.

Click the PDF icon to view the article.

  View the article

 

 


Database, OneSearch, & Google Scholar

Assessing Critical Thinking, by Stephen Brookfield, is also available in Education Research Complete and can be be found using OneSearch on the Archer Library web site. Neither of these database options were presented in the Google Scholar search results. Had it not been available from the publisher, the resource would not have been found. This is one example of the limitations of Google Scholar and illustrates the importance of conducting research using library databases. Not all research is created equal; take time to make informed research decisions.