LibGuides: Ed.D. Research • Leadership Studies: Library Databases

Select Databases

Tools to get started. Explore the full A-Z List.

Education Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes a selection of active full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
ERIC: Government Portal This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library providing unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for education resources. it includes Indexed documents include journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials
Some full text is included; for fuller access to full text use ERIC in the EBSCO interface or use OneSearch. (U.S. Dept. of Education). Hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. Dates covered: 1966-present. Not included in OneSearch.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
ERIC also includes an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,800 terms. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Includes over 700+ abstracted/indexed journals, and 450 full-text journals. Also contains over 200 educational reports. This database is a subset of Education Research Complete. Dates covered: 1963-present (plus some older content).

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
APA PsycNET contains publications from the American Psychological Association. Subscriptions include access to content from APA Books, published 2017-present, and APA PsycArticles from 159 journal titles. APA is the largest professional association of psychologists in the United States, working to advance the psychological sciences across society.
APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Social Sciences Citation This link opens in a new window
Advance innovative research with publication and citation data from the world’s most influential social sciences journals. Indexes over 2,470 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Updated weekly. A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Dates covered: 1965-present.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Sociological Collection covers a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology and its related disciplines including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, social and cultural structure and more.
With hundreds of full-text scholarly journals and coverage spanning over a century, Sociological Collection provides an indispensable source of content pertaining to sociology and its related areas of study.

Looking @ Dissertations

Dissertation Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis A & I This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis is a comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
ProQuest Dissertation & Thesis has been disseminating graduate works since 1939, and is the largest editorially curated repository of dissertations and theses. The database increases in size by 250,000 works each year.
Electronic Thesis & Dissertations Center (ETD) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) contains over 58,000 theses and dissertations from students at 31 of Ohio’s world-renowned academic institutions. The collection includes a multitude of research fields, ranging from science and technology to music and art.
The ETD Center can be browsed by institution, department and author, as well as searched by subject, year, committee members and other categories. Full text is available if submitted.
WorldCat Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes dissertations, theses, and published material based on theses as cataloged by OCLC members worldwide.

Network Digital Library of Thesis & Dissertations
About NDLTD: "This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs."

Research Tip: Literature Review

Did you know?

When working with dissertations in ProQuest or ETD, if full text is not available, an abstract and preview often are. It is possible to request the literature review as an Interlibrary loan article IF you have the page range.

Review the dissertation table of contents and find a page range for the literature review.
Locate the ILL article request form. Login to your AU account.
Provide needed dissertation details and specify the pages needed.

ILL article requests are emailed to users as PDF attachments.

Interlibrary Loan

Free interlibrary loan - or ILL - is available to AU students, faculty, and staff for articles not available in databases or print collections of Archer Library or Ashland Theological Seminary Library.

ILL Article Request Form
AU username & password required for login

Archer Library

Ed.D. Research • Leadership Studies: Library Databases