Skip to main content

* Ed.D. Research: Doctoral Program in Leadership Studies: Journals of Interest

Library resources for Ed.D. research, locating dissertations, and an introduction to the library mentor program.

Journal Recommendations

 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Database Range  Library 
Leadership Quarterly

"Stresses theory and empirical research on effective leadership in all walks of life. Publishes scholarly research and developmental applications from fields of inquiry about leadership."
 

OhioLINK EJC: 3/1/90 - present

Database / online only
Journal of Organizational Behavior "Research, theory and review in industrial/organizational psychology and organizational behavior fields including motivation, work performance, job design, occupational stress, personnel selection, organizational structure and managerial behavior."
 

Wiley Online Library (OhioLINK): 12/95 - present

Database / online only
Journal of Leadership and Organizational Studies "Deals with all aspects of leadership & organizations. A forum for the expression of theory, research & practice, with special emphasis given to emerging, ideas, issues, trends & innovations."
 
OhioLINK EJC: 1/2002 - present Database / online only
Leadership & Organization Development "Original articles and shorter notes on current leadership issues, leadership crises, leadership success and new theoretical developments in leadership for all those involved in organization change."
 
Emerald FullText: 1/94 - present Database / online only
Leadership "Leadership is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes the highest quality original research on leadership. Leadership is designed to provide an ongoing forum for academic researchers to exchange information, insights and knowledge on both theoretical development and empirical research on leadership."
 
OhioLINK EJC:  2005-present Database / online only
Strategy & Leadership "Articles, special reports, case studies and thematic issues on all aspects of strategic management and planning aimed at board directors, CEOs, line and staff executives, academics and consulting firms."

Emerald Insight: 1/2000 - present Database / online only
Higher Education "Authoritative overview articles, comparative studies and analysis of specific problems affecting universities, technical colleges, polytechnics, adult education institutes, specialist institutions and research institutes worldwide."
 
OhioLINK EJC: 2/72 - present Database / online only
Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Education The journal publishes interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary theoretical and empirically-based research articles, and book reviews related to all aspects of teaching and learning in K-12 and Higher Education.
 
Education Research Complete: 12/12 1 year embargo Database / online only
 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Database Range  Library 
Academy of Management
Learning & Education

(JSTOR)
"The Academy of Management Learning & Education (AMLE) examines pressing issues in the fields of management learning and education by presenting theory, models, research, critiques, dialogues and retrospectives that address the learning process and the practice of management education."
 
2002 - 2013 full text
vol 1(1) - 12(1)
Database only
Academy of Management
Learning & Education

(EBSCO)
"The Academy of Management Learning & Education (AMLE) examines pressing issues in the fields of management learning and education by presenting theory, models, research, critiques, dialogues and retrospectives that address the learning process and the practice of management education."
 
2002 - full text
vol 1(1) -
Database only
Comparative Education Review
(JSTOR)
"Comparative Education Review investigates education throughout the world and the social, economic, and political forces that shape it."
 
1957 - 2015 full text
vol 1(1) - vol 59(1)
Database only
Comparative Education Review
(EBSCO)
"Comparative Education Review investigates education throughout the world and the social, economic, and political forces that shape it."
 
1993 - full text
18 mo embargo
vol 37(3) -
Database only
Education Next "Covers topics in education policy research."
 
2005 - full text
vol 5 (2) -
Database only
Educational Management Administration & Leadership "Educational Management Administration & Leadership (EMAL) is a peer reviewed journal that publishes original contributions on educational management, administration and leadership in the widest sense. " 1973 - full text
vol 1(1) -
Database only
International Studies in
Educational Administration
"Aims to enhance the effectiveness of educational leadership, management & administration to support intellectual, personal & social learning in schools, and related educational, social & economic development in a range of national contexts."
 
2001 - full text
18 mo embargo
v 29(3)
Database only
Journal of Cases in
Educational Leadership

"The Journal of Cases in Educational Leadership (JCEL) publishes peer-reviewed cases appropriate for use in programs that prepare educational leaders. The journal offers a wide range of cases that embody relevant and timely presentations of issues germane to the preparation of educational leaders."

1998 - full text
vol 1(1) -
Database only
Journal of School Leadership "Articles examining educational administration in its broadest sense, application of theory in educational administration, staff development programs, utilization of educational administration concepts, practical applications of concepts."
 
2009 - full text
vol 9(1) -
Database only
Leadership & Policy in Schools "Presents information for school administrators about educational leadership and educational policy." 2003 - full text
18 mo embargo
vol 2(2) -
Database only
 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Database Range  Library 
American Educational Research Journal "The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results."
 
1964 - 2013 full text
vol 1(1) - 50(5)
Database only
Educational Evaluation & Policy Analysis "EEPA is a multidisciplinary policy journal, and presents research from multiple disciplines, theoretical orientations, and methodologies."
 
1979 - full text
vol 1(1) -
Paper:
vol 22 (2000) - 29 (2007)
Educational Policy "Provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussing ways to improve education in primary, secondary, and tertiary schools, as well as non-school settings."
 
1987 - full text
vol 1(1)
Database only
Elementary School Journal "Original studies, reviews of research and conceptual analyses for researchers and practitioners interested in elementary schooling."
 
1990 - full text
vol 90(1)
Paper:
vol 100 (1999) -
Educational Researcher "ER's Features section publishes articles that report, synthesize, or analyze scholarly inquiry, focusing on manuscripts that examine the significance of research in education and developments important to the field of educational research."
 
1972 - 2013 full text
vol 1(1) - 42(5)
Database only
The Journal of Educational Administration "This important journal presents international knowledge and initiatives designed to help educational administrators deal with the powerful social, political and economic factors affecting education today."
 
1994 - full text
vol 32(1) -
Database only
Journal of Economics and Finance Education "JEFE is a general interest publication, which targets articles in the area of economic and finance education. "
 
2002 - full text
vol 1 (2) -
Database only
Journal of Negro Education "Since 1932, The Journal of Negro Education has been the leading purveyor of a wealth of scholarly research concerning Black academia."
 
1932 - full text
vol 1 (1)
Database only
Harvard Educational Review "The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about the field's most vital issues. " 1964 - full text
vol 34(1) -
Paper:
Vol 64 (1994) -
International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education "Aims to enhance the theory & practice of qualitative research in education by reporting experiences of a variety of techniques, including ethnographic observation & interviewing, grounded theory, life history, qualitative evaluation, curriculum criticism."
 
1998 - citations
vol 11(3)
Database only
Midwestern Educational Researcher "Research-based articles addressing a full range of educational issues" 2006 - full text
vol 19(1)
Paper:
vol 8 (1995) - 24 (2011)
Peabody Journal of Education "Publishes symposia in the area of education and human development. Includes work from social scientists, humanists, practitioners and policy makers."
 
1923 - full text
vol 1(1) -
Database only
Teachers College Record ""Publishes the very best scholarship in all areas of the field of education. Major articles include research, analysis, and commentary covering the full range of contemporary issues in education, education policy, and the history of education."
 
1999 - 2006 full text
vol 100(3)- 108(12)
Paper: 
vol 72 (1970) - 107 (2005)
Theory into Practice
(JSTOR)
"Theory Into Practice (TIP) is a nationally recognized, peer reviewed journal featuring multiple perspectives and scholarly, yet accessible, discussions of important issues in education."
 
1962 - 2010 full text
vol 1(1) - 52(1)
Paper:
v. 37 (1998) - v. 48 (2009)
Theory into Practice
(EBSCO)
"Theory Into Practice (TIP) is a nationally recognized, peer reviewed journal featuring multiple perspectives and scholarly, yet accessible, discussions of important issues in education."
 
1975 - full text
18 month embargo
Paper:
v. 37 (1998) - v. 48 (2009)
Urban Education "Provides thought-provoking commentary on key issues from gender-balanced and racially diverse perspectives. Articles cover topics such as mental health needs of urban students, student motivation and teacher practice, school-to-work programs and community economic development, restructuring in large urban schools and health and social services."
 
1965 - full text
vol 1(3) -
Database only
 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Database Range  Library 
American School Board Journal "Provides information on the complex issues facing educators today including education trends, student achievement, curriculum development, school finance, etc."
 
2003 - present
vol 190 / issue 7
Paper:
186 (99) - 194 (07)
American Teacher "Covers a wide range of news on educational, political and union issues at the local, state and international levels."
 
2003-2013
vol 88(2)-97(5)
Database only
Education Digest "Covers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals."
 

1990 - full text
vol 56(1) -

Paper:
66(2000) -
Education Week "Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools."
 
1995 - full text
vol 14(16)
Paper:
Current 2 yrs
Educational Leadership "Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools."
 
1943  full text
vol 1(1)
Paper:
57(2000) -
NASSP Bulletin "ASSP Bulletin (BUL) publishes scholarly and research-based knowledge that informs practice, supports data-driven decisions, and advances the performance of middle and high school principals."
 
1910 - full text
vol 1(17)
Paper:
vol 44 (1960) - 94 (2010)
Phi Delta Kappan "Designed to advance educational research, service and leadership, emphasizes issues, trends, policy decisions."
 
1994 - full text
vol 75(5)
Paper:
vol 79 (1977) -
Principal "Serves needs of administrators in K-8 schools. Offers the latest news on education's hot issues, plus practical ways to improve your school."
 
2003 - full text
vol 83(1)
Paper:
vol 77 (1977) -
School Administrator Provides a "big-picture perspectives and collegial discussions on a broad range of topics in education, leadership, instructional materials and resources unique to the education community."
 
2002 - full text
vol 59(1)
Paper:
vol 66 (2009) -
Teacher Magazine "A magazine focusing on teachers and teaching of all grades. Special profiles; Current news events in the world of education; Curriculum development; Media and community news; Calendar of events in education around the nation."
 
1995 - full text
vol 6(4)
Database only

Journal Recommendations
Scholarly and Practitioner Journals presented in this guide were recommended by COE Ed.D. faculty for research. The Journals of Interest tab presents additional resources that may be of interest in the field of education.


What does embargo mean?
There are several current journal on this page with publisher embargo's of six to eighteen months. The publisher has placed restrictions on availability of the electronic text. While paper is available upon publication, electronic access is limited. If a journal has a one year embargo, it will be available after the embargo period has expired. In some cases, a rolling embargo is in place and the material is available continuously.  In other instances there is a fixed time period when the next year becomes available.


Can I get embargoed journal articles? 
Yes!
You may request the item using the ILL Article Form.


What does database only mean? 
Items in the Library column with a notation "database" are not available in paper, or hard copy, from the library. You may access these items via the library database collection.


What does paper only mean?
This journal is not available via our database collection, it is part of the journal collection and available in hard copy.


What does citation mean? 
Citations and abstracts are available; the range for abstracts often encompasses a wider volume / issue range than full text.