Welcome to the IRC

The Instructional Resource Center, or IRC, is located on the 2nd floor of Archer Library. The second floor is also home to Archer Library's juvenile collection featuring picture books, juvenile fiction and non-fiction, big books, chapter books, graphic novels, and young adult fiction and non-fiction. Our collections support the teaching programs and curriculum of the Dwight Schar College of Education.

The IRC is a work area for Ashland University students, faculty, and staff, providing access to resources such as laminating, binding, Ellison Die Cut Machines, and an extensive library of dies. Access to computers and a printing is available on the second floor.

Using this Guide

This Library Guide presents an overview of IRC and provides information supporting the READ 210 Foundations of Literacy scavenger hunt. Use the tabs at the top of the page to explore IRC collections, resources, and equipment available to Ashland University students. Here you will find:

• Guide welcome & link to the IRC;
• Scavenger Hunt Activity information;
• Juvenile collection introduction, specifically award books, alphabet books, and poetry;
• IRC Materials Kit collection overview;
• IRC Curriculum Textbooks;
• Juvenile collection Big Books; and
• Library circulation FAQs.

Locating the IRC

The Instructional Resource Center is located on the 2nd floor of Archer Library.  Look for the large poster (see above) displayed on the whiteboard outside of the IRC entrance. The poster includes a QR code for locating the IRC website, the first question on your scavenger hunt!

Scavenger Hunt Tips

Be sure we are open! IRC hours differ from library hours.   IRC Hours and Updates are posted on this guide, they are also available on the library main hours calendar.

When the IRC is open, do the questions pertaining to equipment (e.g., laminating and Ellison machine) and collections first, then work with the second floor collections (e.g., children's books). It's okay to complete the questions out of order.  

Stop in and see us, ask questions, we can help with your assignment.