|
This library orientation site is a library guide, an online resource designed to support Archer Library's orientation sessions. Library instruction takes place in the Bernice Faber Baker Active Learning Classroom, located on Archer library's main floor. Orientation sessions purposefully introduce students to in-person and online collections, research databases, and library support. Students are encouraged to investigate library resources during collaborative group activities, and reflect on how learning may impact future research. |
 |
Participants work in groups to complete a guided scavenger hunt activity focused on three topics: Archer Library Online, Research Resources, and Library Collections. Results are shared with the class including how the starting point was accessed, answers to general session questions, and reflection on topic specific questions. Exit tickets are completed at the conclusion of the session.
This guided scavenger hunt activity provides participants with an opportunity to explore library databases, OneSearch and Academic Search Complete, and learn beginning search strategies. Participants complete a guided scavenger hunt focused on basic database skills including selecting limiters, locating full-text options, citing bibliographic information, and submitting information requests. Groups share their research results and reflect on the resource most beneficial to their research. Exit tickets are completed at the conclusion of the session.
Participants will have opportunity to conduct research using Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Students will conduct and manage a topic search, apply database filters, explore Gale's topic finder, and develop a concept map to organize search results. This session will include think/pair/share group work, experiential learning, and direct instruction.
Guide Resources: If you have questions about any of the Archer Library resources presented in this guide, or need help using them, feel free to contact me via email at dschreck@ashland.edu.
Online Help: Ask a Librarian chat is available for help during reference hours; a chat widget is located on this page. You may also email a member of the reference team at library@ashland.edu.
Interested in scheduling an appointment? We are here to help you craft and manage effective search strategies, locate articles in library databases, use OhioLINK and Interlibrary loan, and more. Fill out this online help form to get started.
Diane Schrecker, MLIS, M.Ed.
Curriculum Librarian
302 Archer Library
✉ dschreck@ashland.edu
☏ 419.207.6406
