Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: YALSA Nonfiction

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

YALSA Nonfiction Award books in the library

YALSA Nonfiction Awards are given by the Young Adult Library Services Association section of the American Library Association (ALA). YALSA nonfiction titles are part of the library's juvenile circulating collection, and are ocated on the second floor of Ashland University Library. Learn more about the YALSA Nonfiction Awards using the links below.


YALSA Nonfiction Award Winners 2010 -

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2010 Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap
of Faith
Heiligman, Deborah QH31.D2 H42 2009
2011 Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing Angel, Ann ML3930.J65 A83 2010
2012 The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism, & Treachery Sheinkin, Steve E278.A7 S5 2010
2013 Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon Sheinkin, Steve UG1282.A8 S235 2012
2014 The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi Bascomb, Neal DD247.E5 B374 2013
2015 Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek Van Wagenen, Maya  
2016 Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War Sheinkin, Steve CT275.E38518 S54 2015
2017 March: Book Three Lewis, John and
Aydin, Andrew

E840.8.L43 A3 2016

2018 Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers Heiligman, Deborah ND653 .G7 H36 2017
2019 The Unwanted: Stories of Syrian Refugees Brown, Don DS98.6 B76 2018
2020 Free Lunch Ogle, Rex coming soon

YALSA Nonfiction Book Awards

YALSA Nonfiction Book Award

"YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. The winner is announced annually at the ALA Youth Media Awards, with a shortlist of up to five titles named the first week of December." - YALSA

The award was first given in 2010.

YALSA Nonfiction Award: Recent Winners