Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: Printz Award

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Printz Award Books in the Library

Printz award winners are part of the juvenile circulating collection located on the second floor of Ashland University Library. These titles are part of the regular collection and shelved using Library of Congress call number classification. 

Looking at the library catalog? A Michael L. Printz Award winner note has been added to winning titles in the library catalog. Learn more about the Printz Award using the links below.

Michael L. Printz Winners

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2010 Going Bovine Bray, Libba PZ7.B7386 Go 2009
2011 Ship Breaker Bacigalupi, Paolo PZ7.B1335 Sh 2010
2012 Where Things Come Back Whaley, John Corey PZ7.W5458 Whe 2011
2013 In Darkness Lake, Nick PZ7.L1583 In 2012
2014 Midwinterblood Sedgwick, marcus PZ7.S4484 Mi 2013
2015 I'll Give You the Sun Nelson, Jandy PZ7.N4338 Ill 2014
2016 Bone Gap Ruby, Laura PZ7.R83138 Bon 2015
2017 March: Book 3 Lewis, John and
Aydin, Andrew
E840.8 L43 A3 2016
2018 We are Okay: A Novel LaCour, Nina PZ7.L136 We 2017
2019 The Poet X Acevedo, Elizabeth PZ7.5.A348  Po 2018
2020 Dig King, A.S. PZ7.K5693 Dig 2019
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2000 Monster Myers, Walter Dean PZ7.M992 Mon 1999
2001 Kit's Wilderness Almond, David PZ7.A448 Ki 2000
2002 A Step from Heaven Na, An PZ7.N1243 St 2001
2003 Postcards from No Man's Land Chambers, Aidan PZ7.C3557 Po 2002
2004 The First Part Last Johnson, Angela PZ7.J629 Fi 2003
2005 How I Live Now Rosoff, Meg PZ7.R71957 Ho 2004
2006 Looking for Alaska Green, John PZ7.G8233 Lo 2005
2007 American Born Chinese Yang, Gene Luen PZ7.7.Y324 Am 2006
2008 The White Darkness McCaughrean, Geraldine PZ7.M1286 Whi 2007
2009 Jellicoe Road Marchetta, Melina PZ7.M32855 Je 2008

Printz Award

YALSA: The Michael L. Printz Award

From The Printz Award page:

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association."

Printz Award: Recent Winners