Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: Pura Belpré Award

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Pura Belpré Award Books in the Library

Pura Belpré award winners, both author and illustrator, are part of the juvenile circulating collection located on the second floor of Ashland University Library. These titles are part of the regular collection and shelved using Library of Congress call number classification. 

Looking at the catalog? A Pura Belpré award winner note has been added to each winning title in the library catalog. Learn more about the Pura Belpré Awards using the links below.

Pura Belpre Awards: Author (Narrative)

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2010 Return to Sender Alverez, Julia PZ7.A48 Re 2009
2011 The Dreamer Ryan, Pam Munoz PZ7.R9553 Dr 2010
2012 Under the Mesquite McCall, Guadalupe Garcia PZ7.5.M4295 Und 2011
2013 Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Saenz, Benjamin Alire PZ7.S1273 Ar 2012
2014 Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass Medina, Meg PZ7.M51278 Yaq 2013
2015 I Lived on Butterfly Hill Agosin, Marjorie PZ7.A2686 Iah 2014
2016 Enchanted Air: Two Cultures,
Two Wings
Engle, Margarita PS3555.N4254 Z46 2015
2017 Juana and Lucas Medina, Juana PZ7.M51276 Ju 2016
2018 Lucky Broken Girl Behar, Ruth PZ7.B3878 Luc 2017
2019 The Poet X Acevedo, Elizabeth PZ7.5.A348 Po 2018
2020 Sal and Gabi Break the Universe Hernandez, Carlos  

About the award: The Pura Belpre award was given biannually between 1996 and 2008; there is no award for 2007.

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1996 An Island Like You Ortiz, Judith Cofer  
1998 Parrot in the Oven: mi vida Martinez, Victor  
2000 Under the Royal Palms Ada, Alma Flora PS3551.D22 Z475 1998
2002 Esperanza Rising Ryan, Pam Munoz PZ7.R9553 Es 2000
2004 Before We Were Free Alvarez, Julia PZ7.A48 Be 2002
2006 The Tequila Worm Canalas, Viola PZ7.C161643 Te 2005
2008 The Poet Slave of Cuba Engle, Margarita PS3555.N4254 P64 2006
2009 The Surrender Tree Engle, Margarita PS355.N4254 S87 2008

Pura Belpre Awards: Illustrator

 Year  Title  Illustrator  Call Number
2010 Book Fiesta! Lopez, Rafael PZ73.M638 Bo 2009
2011 Grandma's Gift Velasquez, Eric PZ7.V4878 Gpn 2010
2012 Diego Rivera: His World and Ours Tonatiuh, Duncan ND259.R5T57 2011
2013 Martin de Porres: The Rose in the Desert Diaz, David BX4700.M397 S46 2012
2014 Nino Wrestles the World Morales, Yuyi PZ7.M7881927 Nin 2013
2015 Viva Frida Morales, Yuyi ND259.K33 M66 2014
2016 The Drum Dream Girl Lopez, Rafael PZ8.3.E623 Dru 2015
2017 Lowriders to the Center of the Earth Gonzalez, Raul PZ7.7.C363 Lr 2016
2018 La Princesa and the Pea Martinez-Neal, Juana PZ8.3 .E514 Pr 2017
2019 Dreamers Morales, Yuri E184.M5 M67 2018
2020 Dancing Hands: How Teresa Carreno Played the Piano for President Lincoln Lopez, Rafael ML3930.C2635 E55 2019

About the award: The Pura Belpre award was given biannually between 1996 and 2008; there is no award for 2007.

 Year  Title  Illustrator  Call Number
1996 Chato's Kitchen Guevera, Susan  
1998 Snapshots from the Wedding Garcia, Stephanie  
2000 Magic Windows Garza, Carmen Lomas E185.M5 L59 1999
2002 Chato and the Party Animals Guevara, Susan  
2004 Just a Minute: Trickster Tale & Counting Book Morales, Yuyi PZ8.1.M7955 Ju 2003
2006 Dona Flor: A Tall Tale Colon, Raul  
2008 Los Gatos Black on Halloween Morales, Yuyi PZ8.3.M775 Gat 2006
2009 Just in Case Morales, Yuyi PZ7.M78823 Ju 2008

Pura Belpré Award

ALSC: The Pura Belpré Award

From The Pura Belpré Award page:

"The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."

Pura Belpré Illustrator: Recent Winners