Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature • Award Book Resources: Coretta Scott King Awards

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Coretta Scott King Award Books in the Library

CSK Award Winners

Coretta Scott King award winners, both author and illustrator, are part of Archer Library's juvenile circulating collection. Explore CSK Award books in the juvenile collection by searching for "Coretta Scott King" in the library catalog. Award winners by year are featured below.

CSK Illustrator Awards

 Year  Title  Illustrator  Call Number
2010 My People Smith, Charles PS3515.U274 M93 2009
2011 Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave Collier, Bryan NK4210.D247 H55 2010
2012 Underground Evans, Shane W. E450.E94 2001
2013 I, Too, Am American Collier, Bryan PS3515.U274 I3 2012
2014 Knock, Knock: My Dad's Dream Collier, Bryan PZ7.B380558 Kno 2013
2015 Firebird Myers, Christopher PZ7.C7887 Fir 2014
2016 Trombone Shorty Collier, Bryan ML3930.A53 A3 2015
2017 Radiant Child Steptoe, Javaka N6537.B233 S84 2016
2018 Out of Wonder Holmes, Ekua PN6109.97.A526 2017
2019 The Stuff of Stars Holmes, Ekua QB983.B38 2018
2020 The Undefeated Alexander, Kwame PS3601.L35388 U53 2018
2021 R-E-S-P-E-C-T Morrison, Frank ML3930.F68 W43 2020
2022 Unspeakable Cooper, Floyd F704.T92 W43 2021
 Year  Title  Illustrator  Call Number
1990 Nathaniel Talking Gilchrest, Jan PS3557.R39416 N37 1998
1991 Aida Dillon, Leo ML3930.V4 P7 1990
1992 All Night, All Day Bryan, Ashley M1670.A45 2004
1993 The Origin of Life on Earth Wilson, Kathleen PZ8.1.A543 Or 1991
1994 Soul Looks Back in Wonder Feelings, Tom PS591.N4 S58 1994
1995 The Creation Ransome, James PS3519.O2625 C73 1994
1996 The Middle Passage Feelings, Tom ND237.F32 A4 1995
1997 Minty Pinkney, Jerry E444.T82 S37 1996
1998 In Daddy's Arms I am Tall Steptoe, Javaka PS591.N4 B46 1997
1999 I See the Rhythm Wood, Michele ML3556.I48 1998
2000 In the Time of the Drums Pinkney, Brian PZ7.S566657 In 1999
2001 Uptown Collier, Bryan PZ7.C67759 Up 2000
2002 Goin' Someplace Special Pinkney, Jerry PZ7.M478693 Go 2001
2003 Talkin' About Bessie Lewis, E.B. TK540.C546 G75 2002
2004 Beautiful Blackbird Bryan, Ashley PZ8.1.B838 Bg 2003
2005 Ellington Was Not a Street Nelson, Kadir PS3569.H3324 E45 2004
2006 Rosa Collier, Bryan F334.M753 P38427 2005
2007 Moses Nelson, Kadir PZ7.W3535 Mo 2006
2008 Let it Shine Bryan, Ashley BV353.L48 2007
2009 The Blacker the Berry Cooper, Floyd PS3570.H565 B53 2008
 Year  Title  Illustrator  Call Number
1974 Ray Charles Ford, George Crowell
1975 * No Award Given *
1976 * No Award Given *
1977 * No Award Given *
1978 African Dream Byard, Carole
1979 Something on My Mind Feelings, Tom
1980 Cornrows Byard, Carole
1981 Grandmama's Joy Byard, Carole
1982 Mother Crocodile Steptoe, John
1983 Black Child Magubane, Peter
1984 My Mama Needs Me Cummings, Pat
1985  * No Award Given *
1986 The Patchwork Quilt Pinkney, Jerry PZ7.F667 Pat 1985
1987 Half a Moon and One Whole Star Pinkney, Jerry
1988 Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters Steptoe, John PZ8.S585 Mu 1987
1989 Mirandy and Brother Wind Pinkney, Jerry PZ7.M478693 Mi 1988

Why are there no illustrator awards for the early 1970's?
Prior to 1974, the Coretta Scott King Awards were given to authors only. The first illustrator award was presented in 1974 and in 1978 it began to be presented regularly.

CSK Author Awards

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2010 Bad News for Outlaws Nelson, Vaunda F697.R44 N45 2009
2011 One Crazy Summer Williams, Rita Garcia PZ7.W6713 On 2010
2012 Heart and Soul Nelson, Kadir E185.N427 2011
2013 Hand in Hand Pinkney, Andrea PS185.86.P56 2012
2014 P.S. Be Eleven Williams, Rita Garcia PZ7.W6713 Pam 2013
2015 Brown Girl Dreaming Woodson, Jacqueline PS3573.O64524 Z46 2014
2016 Gone Crazy in Alabama Williams-Garcia, Rita PZ7.W6713 Gon 2015
2017 March: Book 3 Lewis, John & Aydin, A. E840.8.L48 A3 2016
2018 Piecing Me Together Watson, Renee PZ7.W32868 Pi 2017
2019 A Few Red Drops Hartfield, Claire F548.9.N H37 2018
2020 New Kid Craft, Jerry PZ7.7.C73 New 2019
2021 Unspeakable Weatherford, Carole, B. F704.T92 W43 2021
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1990 A Long, Hard Journey McKissack, Patricia HD8039.R37 U46 1989
1991 The Road to Memphis Taylor, Mildred PZ7.T21723 Rm 1990
1992 Now is Your Time Myers, Walter Dean E185.M96 1991
1993 Dark Thirty: Southern Tales McKissack, Patricia PZ7.M478693 Dar 1992
1994 Toning the Sweep Johnson, Angela PZ7.J629 To 1993
1995 Christmas in the Big House McKissack, Patricia F213.M36 1994
1996 Her Stories Hamilton, Virginia GR111.A47 H35 1995
1997 Slam Myers, Walter Dean PZ7.M992 Sl 1996
1998 Forged By Fire Draper, Sharon PZ7.D78325 Fo 1997
1999 Heaven Johnson, Angela PZ7.J629 He 1998
2000 Bud, Not Buddy Curtis, Christopher Paul PZ7.C94137 Bu 1999
2001 Miracle's Boys Woodson, Jacqueline PZ7.W868 Mi 2000
2002 The Land Taylor, Mildred PZ7.T21723 Lan 2001
2003 Bronze Masquerade Grimes, Niki PZ7.G88429 Br 2002
2004 The First Part Johnson, Angela PZ7.J629 Fi 2003
2005 Remember Morrison, Toni LC214.2.M67 2004
2006 Day of Tears Lester, Julius PZ7.L5629 Da 2005
2007 Copper Sun Draper, Sharon PZ7.D78325 Cop 2006
2008 Elijah of Buxton Curtis, Christopher Paul PZ7.C94137 El 2007
2009 We Are the Ships! Nelson, Kadir GV875.N35 N45 2008
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1970 Martin Luther King Jr. Patterson, Lillie
1971 Black Troubadour: Langston Hughes Rollins, Charlemae
1972 17 Black Artists Fax, Elton C.
1973 I Never Had it Made Duckett, Alfred
1974 Ray Charles Mathis, Sharon Bell
1975 The Legend of Africana Robinson, Dorothy
1976 Duey's Tale Bailey, Pearl
1977 The Story of Stevie Wonder Haskins, James
1978 African Dreamer Greenfield, Eloise
1979 Escape to Freedom Davis, Ossie
1980 The Young Landlords Myers, Walter Dean
1981 This Life Poitier, Sydney
1982 Let the Circle Be Unbroken Taylor, Mildred PZ7.T21723 Le 1981
1983 Sweet Whispers Hamilton, Virginia PZ7.H1828 Sw 1982
1984 Everett Anderson's Good-Bye Clifton, Lucille PZ8.3.C573 Evh 1988
1985 Motown and Didi Myers, Walter Dean PZ7.M992 Mot 1984
1986 The People Could Fly Hamilton, Virginia PZ8.1.H154 Pg 2004
1987 Justin & the Best Biscuits Walter, Mildred Pitts PZ7.W17127 Ju 1991
1988 The Friendship Taylor, Mildred D. PZ7.T21723 Fr 1987
1989 Fallen Angels Myers, Walter Dean PZ7.M922 Fal 1988


"The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood" (ALA, About the CSK Awards, 2022).

CSK Illustrator Award: Recent Winners