Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: Theodor Geisel Award

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Awards in the library

Geisel award books are part of the library's juvenile circulating collection, and are located on the second floor of Ashland University Library.  These titles are part of the regular collection and shelved using Library of Congress call number classification. 

Looking at the catalog? A Theodor Suess Geisel Award note has been added to each winning title in the library catalog. Learn more about the Theodor Geisel awards using the links below.

Theodor Geisel Awards

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2006 Henry & Mudge: The Great Grandpas Rylant, Cynthia PZ7.R982 Henmg 2005
2007 Zeldy & Ivy: The Runaways Kavanosky, Laura PZ7.K975 Zet 2006
2008 There is a Bird on Your Head Willems, Mo PZ7.W65535 th 2007
2009 Are You Ready to Play Outside? Willems, Mo PZ7.W65535 Ar 2008
2010 Benny & Penny in the Pink No No Hayes, Geoffrey PZ7.7.H396 Beb 2009
2011 Bink and Gollie DiCamillo, Kate PZ7.D5455 Bi 2010
2012 Tales for Very Picky Eaters Schnieder, John PZ7.S3633 Tal 2011
2013 Up, Tall, and High Long, Ethan PZ7.L8453 Up 2012
2014 The Watermelon Seed Pizzoli, Greg PZ7.6898 Wat 2013
2015 You Are (Not) Small Kang, Anna PZ7.K12678 You 2014
2016 Don't Throw it to Mo! Adler, David A. PZ7.A2615 Dp 2015
2017 We Are Growing Keller, Laurie PZ7.K2816 We 2016
2018 Charlie and Mouse Snyder, Laurel PZ7.S6835 Ch 2017
2019 Fox the Tiger Tabor, Corey R. PZ7.T29 Foxt 2018
2020 Stop! Bot! Yang, James coming soon

About the Geisel Award

ALSC: Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

"The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year." -- ALSC

The award was first given in 2006.

Geisel Award: Recent Winners