Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources: Batchelder Award

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.

Batchelder Award Books in the Library

Mildred L. Batchelder award winners are part of the juvenile circulating collection located on the second floor of Ashland University Library. These titles are part of the regular collection and shelved using Library of Congress call number classification. 

Looking at the library catalog? A Batchelder Award winner note has been added to each winning title in the library catalog. Learn more about the Mildred L. Batchelder Award using the links below.

Batchelder Awards

 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
2000 The Baboon King Quintana, Anton PZ7.Q485 Bagg 1999
2001 Samir and Yonathan Carmi, Daniella PZ7.C21723 Sam 2000
2002 How I Became an American Gundisch, Karin PZ7.G967 Ho 2001
2003 The Thief Lord Funke, Cornelia PZ7.F96624 Th 2002
2004 Run, Boy, Run Oriev, Uri PZ7.O633 Ru 2003
2005 The Shadows of Ghadames Stolz, Joelle PZ7.S875837 Sh 2004
2006 An Innocent Soldier Holub, Josef PZ7.H74278 Inn 2005
2007 The Pull of the Ocean Mourlevat, Jean-Claude PZ7.M8646 Pu 2006
2008 Brave Story Miyabe, Miyuki PL856.I856 B8713 2007
2009 Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit Uehashi, Nahoki PZ7.U277 Mo 2008
2010 A Faraway Island Thor, Annika PZ7.T3817 Far 2009
2011 A Time of Miracles Bondoux, Anne-Laura PZ7.B63696 Ti 2010
2012 Soldier Bear Tak, Bibi Dumon PZ7.D8934 Sol 2011
2013 My Family for the War Voorhoeve, Anne C.
2014 Mister Orange Matus PZ7.T792 Mi 2012
2015 Mikis and the Donkey Tak, Bibi Dumon PZ7.D8934 Mik 2014
2016 The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy Alemanga, Beatrice PZ7.A3744 Wo 2015
2017 Cry Heart, But Never Break Ringtved, Glenn PZ7.R4743 Cr 2016
2018 The Murderer's Ape Wegelius, Jakob PZ7.W4232 Mu 2017
2019 The Fox on the Swing Dacit, Evelina PZ7. D22 Fo 2018
2020 Brown Øvreås, Håkon  
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1980 The Sound of the Dragon's Feet Zei, Aliki  
1981 The Winter When Time Was Frozen Pelgrom, Els  
1982 The Battle Horse Kullman, Harry  
1983 Hiroshima No Pika Maruki, Toshi D767.25.H6 M2913 1982
1984 Ronia, The Robber's Daughter Lindgren, Astrid  
1985 The Island on Bird Street Orlev, Uri  
1986 Rose Blanche Gallez, Christophe  
1987 No Hero for the Kaiser Frank, Rudolph  
1988 If You Didn't Have Me Nilsson, Ulf  
1989 Crutches Hartling, Peter  
1990 Buster's World Reuter, Bjarne  
1991 A Hand Full of Stars Schami, Rafik PZ7.S3337 Ho 1990
1992 The Man From the Other Side Orlev, Uri PZ7.O633 Man 1981
1993 * No Award Given *    
1994 The Apprentice Llorente, Pilar Molina  
1995 The Boys from St. Petri Reuter, Bjarne  
1996 The Lady with the Hat Orlev, Uri  
1997 The Friends Yumoto, Kazumi PZ7.Y8967 Th 1996
1998 The Robber and Me Holub, Josef  
1999 Thanks to My Mother Rabinovici, Schoschana  
 Year  Title  Author  Call Number
1968 The Little Man Kastner, Erich  
1969 Don't Take Teddy Friis-Baastad, Babbis  
1970 Wildcat Under Glass Zei, Aliki  
1971 In the Land of Ur Baumann, Hans  
1972 Friedrich Richter, Hans Peter PZ7.R4154 Fr 1970
1973 Pulga Van Iterson, S.R.  
1974 Petros' War Zei, Aliki  
1975 An Old Tale Carved Out of Stone Linevskil, A.  
1976 The Cat and Mouse Who Shared a House Hurlimann, Ruth  
1977 The Leopard Bodker, Cecil  
1978 * No Award Given *    
1979 Rabbit Island Steiner, Jorg  
1979* Konrad Nostlinger, Christine  


*Two awards were given in 1979.

Batchelder Award

ALSC: The Mildred L. Batchelder Award

From The Batchelder Award page:

"This award, established in her honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States. "

Batchelder Award: Recent Winners