LibGuides: M.Ed. Research • Adult Education: Databases

Select Databases

Education & Psychology Databases

These education databases will have resources for education, general education, and adult education.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
ERIC: Government Portal This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library providing unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for education resources.
Indexed documents include journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Some full text is included; for fuller access to full text use ERIC in the EBSCO interface or use OneSearch. (U.S. Dept. of Education). Hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. Dates covered: 1966-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, secondary education, higher education, and distance education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals.
Includes over 700 abstracted/indexed journals (500+ of which are peer reviewed) and over 500 full-text journals (350+ of which are peer reviewed). Also contains over 200 educational reports. This database is a subset of Education Research Complete. Dates covered: 1963-present (plus some older content). This database is not included in OneSearch
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology database containing full text from 400 journals, with total journal/magazine coverage exceeding 560.
Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch
APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).

Business Databases

Recommended business databases will have information for training and human resource management.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains references to more than 1,300 journals plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Subject areas include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database indexes nearly 900 business magazines and journals, full text available in over half of the resources. Coverage includes product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, and statistical rankings.
Also included are obituaries, surveys, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, and conferences. Dates covered: 1982-present.

General & Social Science Databases

Recommended databases for multidisciplinary research and the social sciences

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Includes the following suite of databases for coverage across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (1990-present); and Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities (1990- present). Dates covered: 1965-present. This database is not included in OneSearch

Theses & Dissertations

Theses & Dissertations, both full text and abstracts, are available from Archer Library. Also available, AU student authored theses and dissertations available in print, search the library catalog for these titles.

Electronic Thesis & Dissertations Center (ETD) This link opens in a new window
ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools.
It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.
ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis A & I This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, with 2.4 million entries.
Over 930,000 dissertations and theses are available in PDF format, and most include free twenty-four-page previews. Dates covered: 1800s-present. This database is not included in OneSearch
WorldCat Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes dissertations, theses, and published material based on theses as cataloged by OCLC members worldwide.
Contains over 8 million records. Updated daily. This database is not included in OneSearch

Open Access Resources

Recommended resources that provide open access content.

Science Direct
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
Science Direct: Sciences and Humanities
Discover our large collection of Social Sciences and Humanities journals and books, highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Directory of open access scientific and scholarly journals available online. Covers all subjects and many languages.
Includes 5,000+ journals, over 2,000 of which are searchable on article level. (Lund University Libraries).

Library Databases

Archer Library & OhioLINK Databases

Looking for databases? This page features a selection of database recommendations for education and adult education research. Use this section's drop-down menu to explore additional resources including OneSearch Basics, ERIC and Interlibrary Loan, and Google Scholar.

View a complete listing of available library databases: A to Z Databases

Working Off-Campus?

It will be necessary to authenticate to use these databases. Follow the on-screen directions and use your AU credentials to login and view databases.

Journal Finder

Are you looking for a particular journal? Use Archer Library's Journal Finder to locate journals by title and learn if it is available via a library database or in hard copy at the library.

Library Guide Poll

How did you locate this resource?

My professor provided the link.: 9 votes (69.23%)

I was exploring the library web site.: 3 votes (23.08%)

I found it during an internet search.: 1 votes (7.69%)

Total Votes: 13

Archer Library

M.Ed. Research • Adult Education: Databases