Skip to main content

* M.Ed. Research: Adult Education: Journals of Interest

Library information and resources for M.Ed. in Adult Education || EDAE 501, 503, 505, 601, & 603

About this page

Journals & Databases

 

Journal Terms

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

  Journals & Databases
Journals presented here are currently available in Ashland University Library databases. They are a starting place for your research. Be sure to evaluate individual articles on their own merit prior to use.   The last tab, Journal Terms, details terms used by publishers to indicate availability of full text. Database range will indicate if there is any expected delay or embargo.  

If full text is not available in our databases, submit an ILL article request.

AU Login is required when submitting an interlibrary loan request.

Adult Education Journals

 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Range  Database
Journal of Adult Development Covers all aspects of development in adults across the lifespan using a broad range of developmental perspectives. 1/1/98 to present, 12 mo. delay Academic Search Complete 
Adult Education Quarterly Articles and book reviews about the research and theory in adult continuing education. 9/1/91 to present Academic Search Complete
Journal of Transformative Education Presents peer-reviewed articles focused on advancing the understanding, practice, and experience of transformative education (adult education). 1/1/03 to present OhioLINK EJC
Adult Basic Education & Literacy Journal This journal is "focused on innovative ideas and practitioner experience that supports the field of adult education."

3/7/97 to 9/1/11

Academic Search Complete
Journal of Research & Practice for Adult Literacy, Secondary & Basic Education

This journal is "focused on innovative ideas and practitioner experience that supports the field of adult education. COABE Journal is organized around themes and published twice a year.  (Previously Adult Basic Education & Literacy Journal)

3/1/12 to present Academic Search Complete
Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal Provides a forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of adult teaching and learning.  7/1/10 to present Education Research Complete

 

 

 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Range  Database
International Journal of Training & Development This multidisciplinary, international and comparative journal provides research, analysis and debate on the effective use of human resources and the growth of training and development in employees. 3/1/97 to present OhioLINK EJC
New Horizons in Adult Education & Human Resource Development Promotes all aspects of practice & research that explore issues of individual, group, & organizational learning, wherever they may be located & focuses on current research & ideas in adult education, human resource development, & related fields. 1/1/09 to present (1 year delay) Education Research Complete
Workplace Learning & Skills Bulletin Covers topics in workplace learning, adult education, education and private training. 3/1/11 to present Education Research Complete
Education + Training Focuses on the relationship between what is taught in schools, colleges and universities and how what is learnt there prepares the individual for the training received in industry and for a career involving lifelong learning. 1/1/94 to 5/6/14

OhioLINK EJC See access from publisher site.

Training Journal A resource for training, human resources, and learning & development professionals (trade publication) 5/1/08 - present

Business Source Comp

See journal web site.

Journal of Workplace Learning Contains research and productivity information regarding employees in the workplace. 1/1/97 - 2/4/14

OhioLINK EJC 

See publisher web site.

Career & Technical Education Research Publishes articles dealing with research and research topics in vocational education. 2005 to present Education Research Complete
       

 

 

 Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Range  Database
New Directions for Adult & Continuing Education A series of thematic journals exploring issues of common interest to instructors, administrators, counselors and policy makers in a broad range of adult and continuing education settings. 3/01/97 - present (Full Text Delay: 12 mo) Academic Search Complete
Adult Learning Articles of interest pertaining to adult and continuing education for both educators and learners. 9/1/89 to present OhioLINK EJC
Studies in Continuing Education Covers all aspects of continuing professional & lifelong learning. 5/1/99 to present (Full text delay: 18 mos.) Academic Search Complete
Open Learning: The Journal of Open, Distance and e-Learning Reports on the latest developments in distance & continuing education (adult education). 1/1/99 to present (18 month delay) Academic Search Complete
Journal of Career Assessment JCA provides methodologically sound, empirically based studies focusing on assessment, career development, and vocational psychology.

1/93 - 9/98
2/1/02 - present

OhioLINK EJC
       

 

 

  Journal Title  Publisher / Database Description  Range  Database
Evaluation and Program Planning "The primary goals of the journal are to assist evaluators and planners to improve the practice of their professions, to develop their skills and to improve their knowledge base." 1/1/78 - present OhioLINK EJC
American Journal of Evaluation AJE explores decisions and challenges related to conceptualizing, designing and conducting evaluations. 3/1/98 - present OhioLINK EJC
Journal of Planning and Education Research The journal covers planning theory, planning practice, and planning pedagogy, as well as disciplines drawn upon by planners such as urban geography, welfare economics, interest-group politics, and policy analysis. 7/1/81 - present OhioLINK EJC
Practical Assessment, Research, & Evaluation Journal purpose is to provide access to refereed articles that can have a positive impact on assessment, research, evaluation, and teaching practice. 1/1/88 - present Ebsco Open Access Journals

 

About this page

Journals presented in this guide were recommended by course instructors for research. Journals, and journal topics, are presented in three categories:  Adult Education, Training & Workplace, and Continuing Education.


What does embargo mean?

There are several current journal on this page with publisher embargo's of six to eighteen months. The publisher has placed restrictions on availability of the electronic text; paper is available upon publication, but electronic access is limited. If a journal has a one year embargo, it will be available after the embargo period has expired. In some cases, a rolling embargo is in place and the material is available continuously. In other instances there is a fixed time period when the next year becomes available.


Can I get embargoed journal articles via ILL?

Yes! You may request the item using the ILL Article Form. Remember, login is required to view ILL request form.


What does database only mean?

Items in the Library column with a notation "database" are not available in paper, or hard copy, from the library. You may access these items via the library database collection.


What does paper only mean?

If "paper only" is noted, the journal is not available via our database collection, but it is part of the library's journal collection and available in hard copy.


What does citation & abstract only mean?

Citations and abstracts are available, the range for abstracts often encompasses a wider volume / issue range than full text.