This is the "Welcome: Start Here" page of the "Children's Literature: Award Book Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources   Tags: award_books, childrens_literature, education, juvenile_books  

Welcome! This guide features information about award books located the library's juvenile collection.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/award-books Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome: Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Children's Literature Award Books

juvenile collectionWelcome to the Children's Literature
Award Book LibGuide

This guide is a collection of resources, a starting place for information on Ashland University Library's juvenile collection. Explore the tabs located at the top of the page to learn more about a variety of children's book awards and their place in the juvenile collection. Included in this guide are IRC reference resources for children's literature and links to information about each award.

 

About the Juvenile Collection

The purpose of Ashland University Library's juvenile collection is to support the Dwight Schar College of Education curriculum and disciplines studying children's and young adult literature. Intended for AU students, pre-service teachers, student teachers, faculty, and staff, the juvenile collection is also used by Ashland community borrowers and OhioLINK patrons.

Titles added to the juvenile collection, both fiction and non-fiction, are subject to professional reviews before purchase. Review resources include, but are not limited to, Booklist, Book Links, The Horn Book Magazine, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and The Reading Teacher.

The juvenile collection features award winning titles and honor books for Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King. Also included are ALA Youth Media award titles from the Pura Belpre, Printz, Theodor Seuss Geisel, Batchelder, and Siebert, and the Boston Globe Horn Book Awards.  ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Notable Children's books, and Children's and Teacher's Choice award books are also part of this collection.

Students are encouraged to preview, read and evaluate books before using them in a classroom. This step is necessary to determine if selected titles are appropriate for individual classroom situations. If you have questions about a particular title, consult with your professor or cooperating teacher.

 

Welcome to LibGuides

schrecker avatarDiane L. Schrecker, MLIS
Curriculum Librarian
LibGuide Profile

IRC: 419-289-5406
Office: 419-207-6404
dschreck@ashland.edu 



Instructional Resource Center
Ashland University Library
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805

Stay connected with the IRC:

 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC email IRC Web

 

AU Library Catalog

Ashland University Library Catalog

Locate additional award book winners. Explore the catalog from here!


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip