This is the "Welcome" page of the "Children's Literature: Award Book Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature: Award Book Resources   Tags: award_books, childrens_literature, education, juvenile_books  

Welcome! This guide features information about the library's juvenile collection. Included are Caldecott & Newbery Award books, juvenile book review resources, and IRC reference titles.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/award-books Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Children's Literature Resource Page

newbery caldecottWelcome to the Children's Literature Award Book LibGuide

This page is a collection of resources, a starting place for information on Ashland University Library's juvenile collection. Explore the tabs located at the top of the page to learn more about Caldecott, Newbery, and Coretta Scott King award books, IRC reference resources for children's literature, children's book review information featuring library database links, and quick links to a complete listing of library holdings for Caldecott and Newbery.

 

 

About the Juvenile Collection

The purpose of Ashland University Library's juvenile collection is to support the Dwight Schar College of Education curriculum. Intended for AU students, pre-service teachers, student teachers, and faculty members, the juvenile collection is also used by Ashland community borrowers and OhioLINK patrons.

Titles added to the juvenile collection, both fiction and non-fiction, are subject to professional reviews before purchase. Review resources include, but are not limited to, Booklist, Book Links, The Horn Book Magazine, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and The Reading Teacher.

The juvenile collection includes award winning titles such as Newbery and Caldecott winner and honor books, Coretta Scott King award books, ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Notable Children's books, and Children's and Teacher's Choice award books.

Students are encouraged to preview, read and evaluate books before using them in a classroom setting. This step is necessary to determine if selected titles are appropriate for individual classroom situations. If you have questions about a particular title, consult with your professor or cooperating teacher before using it in the classroom.

 

Search the Catalog: Juvenile Collection

Ashland University Library Catalog
Locate holdings for Ashland University Library, including the Instructional Resource Center and Ashland Theological Seminary Library. In a hurry? Explore the catalog from here!

AU Library Catalog:


OhioLINK Catalog

Search for holdings in participating OhioLINK colleges, Universities, and several Ohio public libraries.

OhioLINK Catalog:

 

Welcome to LibGuides

schrecker avatarDiane L. Schrecker, MLIS
Curriculum Librarian
LibGuide Profile

IRC: 419-289-5406
Office: 419-207-6404
dschreck@ashland.edu
 


Instructional Resource Center
Ashland University Library
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805

 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC email IRC Web

 

IRC News Blog

IRC Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip