You are able to view article information, including author, source, publication type, subjects, and abstract, from the results screen by clicking on the magnifying glass icon (see below). Information will display in a pop-up window allowing users to preview the article.
Yes! You can check out books from Archer Library using your EagleCard. Explore one of the library's eBook collections, or use the library catalog, to locate eBooks that may be accessed and read on your computer or mobile device.
It's most often due to vendor and publisher information gathering processes. EBSCO Connect notes: "Data used to cite electronic sources is not yet standardized therefore researchers should review citations carefully." Citation details from the database will provide you with the information needed to complete a citation. Best practice is to verify proper citation format with your professor and/or the style manual being used.
Full text of an article will provide you with bibliographic reference and citations used by the author/authors. Some databases, such as OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, provide information on citations with article abstract information. This article from the journal Sociological Inquiry provides one such example: Social Norms and Expectations about Student Loans and Family Formation
Archer Library collections include titles selected to support the curriculum at Ashland University. This includes titles ranging from general knowledge to reference and research. The library has several unique collections:
The short answer is, no. A longer answer is a bit complicated, but worth noting. Full text database articles may be available as PDF and/or HTML; PDF is a scanned copy of the item and will include images and graphs as they were originally displayed; HTML will provide full text with any images or graphs provided separate from the text. Additionally, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests are sent as PDF files.
Exit Ticket
Thank you for participating in the Archer Library Orientation Scavenger Hunt activity. This page provides answers to the final Exit Ticket prompt: What question do you have that remains unanswered?