Skip to Main Content

Archer Library


 

 

Archer Library Student Orientation: Database Orientation • 1

This guide provides an introduction to Archer Library Resources & Information
Database Scavenger Hunt Header image

Group Tasks

 

Research Starters

Need help getting started?

Topics to Consider

Below is a complete list of research starters. Each group will have a short list of topics provided with their database.

  • Loch Ness Monster
  • Area 51
  • Internet of Things
  • Social Media Marketing
  • Life on Mars
  • Echo Chambers
  • Free Verse Poetry
  • Blockbuster Movies
  • Books and Film
  • Street Photography
  • Crop Circles
  • Color and Mood
  • Web 3.0
  • Graffiti or Street Art
  • Comics and Graphic Novels
  • Dystopian Literature
  • Big Data
  • Harry Potter
  • Archetypes
  • Gothic Architecture

 

OneSearch

Research discovery tool searching a full-range of databases.

OneSearch screen image

Image: OneSearch & Library Resources Box, Archer Library


General Questions / Tasks

1. What database did you use?
2. What is your group's research topic and search term?
3. How many results were returned with the initial search?

 

Scavenger Hunt Questions •
  1. What content or source types were returned (e.g. articles, videos)?
  2. Is there a way to see the most recent items first? If so, how is it accomplished?
  3. Find a way to limit your search results to the last 10 years. How does this impact the initial search result number?
  4. Explore how to filter search results to a specific source type (e.g. article). Identify and select at least one limiter; share how it changed results.
  5. How do you know if an article is available to view? Name two formats.
  6. Select an article to read. After review, would you use it for research? Why or why not?
  7. Is it possible to listen to an article or view it in a different language? How?
  8. Review the article tool menu and locate the Cite icon. Select a citation style and provide bibliographic information about your article.
  9. Review the article tool menu. Identify and share an option provided to print or save your article.
  10. Return to the results menu and select an item identified as available using OhioLINK, Order from Interlibrary Loan, or Full text finder. Click the link and share what happens.

 

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full text database.

screen grab academic search complete search screen

Image: Academic Search Complete, Advanced Search page, Archer Library


General Questions / Tasks

1. What database did you use?
2. What is your group's research topic and search term?
3. How many results were returned with the initial search?

 

Scavenger Hunt Questions •
  1. What content or source types were returned (e.g. articles, videos)?
  2. Is there a way to see the most recent items first? If so, how is it accomplished?
  3. Find a way to limit your search results to the last 10 years. How does this impact the initial search result number?
  4. Explore how to filter search results to a specific source type (e.g. article). Identify and select at least one limiter; share how it changed results.
  5. How do you know if an article is available to view? Name two formats.
  6. Select an article to read. After review, would you use it for research? Why or why not?
  7. Is it possible to listen to an article or view it in a different language? How?
  8. Review the article tool menu and locate the Cite icon. Select a citation style and provide bibliographic information about your article.
  9. Review the article tool menu. Identify and share an option provided to print or save your article.
  10. Return to the results menu and select an item identified as available using OhioLINK, Order from Interlibrary Loan, or Full text finder. Click the link and share what happens.

Scavenger Hunt • Overview

Archer Library Databases

This online scavenger hunt will provide you with opportunity to explore two Archer Library databases, OneSearch and Academic Search Complete, and learn beginning search strategies.

Need help identifying a search topic? Twenty topics have been identified for use with this activity. Groups may use one of the suggested topics, or determine a topic of interest to them.

Students are encouraged to use their own laptops or mobile devices for this session. Library iPads are available as needed.

Instructions • Getting Started

Participants will be divided into four groups; the number of students in each group depends on class size. Each group will be assigned a database to explore.

Group members will answer three general questions about their research topic and ten specific questions pertaining to database use and managing search results.

  • M/W/F Classes: You will have 15 minutes
  • T/Th Classes: You will have 20 minutes
  • Evening Classes: You will have 20+ minutes

When time is up, each group will share their results with the class.

  • Groups will answer the three general questions, sharing their search terms and initial results, on the interactive whiteboard.
  • Database scavenger hunt results, including article selected for review, will be shared with the class.

Session Review • Questions

Once the activity is complete, there are two final questions to consider:

  • Why do think there was such a difference between the number of initial results returned in OneSearch and Academic Search Complete? 
  • Which database resource would you consider more beneficial for beginning research? Why?

Students will be asked to complete an exit ticket at the conclusion of the session.

 

 

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.