LibGuides: ENG 425 • American Literature I: Begin to 1845: eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks.

Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device.
Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch.

When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

eBook Collections

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
This unique collection covers a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and religious texts. Content in the collection help readers explore religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views.
Collection features more than 4,100 titles from over 150 trusted publishers.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important scholarly eBooks from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.
Works purchased by OhioLINK include titles in the subject collections of Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory.
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)
Routledge Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive overviews and fresh approaches to traditional and current topics across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, Science, and Built Environment.
Routledge Handbooks Online is written by highly regarded authorities in their respective fields, reflecting an international and diverse range of perspectives. With over 3,000 Handbooks and Companions, and with new titles added each month, this is the definitive resource for the latest high-quality and trusted research.(GEER Funded)

African American Literature in Transition, 1750-1800: Volume 1
Call Number: Cambridge University Press, 2022
"This volume provides an illuminating exploration of the development of early African American literature from an African diasporic perspective—in Africa, England, and the Americas."
African American Literature in Transition, 1800-1830: Volume 2, 1800-1830
Call Number: Cambridge University Press, 2021
"African American literature in the years between 1800 and 1830 emerged from significant transitions in the cultural, technological, and political circulation of ideas."
African American Literature in Transition, 1830-1850: Volume 3
Call Number: Cambridge University Press, 2021
"This volume charts the ways in which African American literature fosters transitions between material cultures and contexts from 1830 to 1850, and showcases work that explores how African American literature and lived experiences shaped one another. "
Slavery, Surveillance and Genre in Antebellum United States Literature
Call Number: Oxford University Press, 2022
This book "demonstrates the importance of race to surveillance studies and claims a greater role for the impact of surveillance on literary expression in the United States during the era of slavery."

Frederick Douglass: Freedom's Voice, 1818-1845
Call Number: Michigan State University Press, 1998
"This work in the MSU Press Rhetoric and Public Affairs Series chronicles Frederick Douglass's preparation for a career in oratory, his emergence as an abolitionist lecturer in 1841, and his development and activities as a public speaker and reformer from 1841 to 1845."
Young Frederick Douglass
Call Number: John Hopkins University Press, 2018
"Preston's highly regarded biography traces the life and times of Frederick Douglass from his birth on Maryland's Eastern Shore in 1818 until 1838, when he escaped from slavery to emerge upon the national scene."
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Call Number: First Avenue Classics, 2014
"This unabridged version of Douglass's powerful autobiography, first published in 1845, provides an honest, firsthand account of the horrors of slavery in the United States."

Select eBooks

19th Century American Literature
Puritans

Speech, Writing, and Thought Presentation in 19th-Century Narrative Fiction
Call Number: Oxford University Press, 2020
"This book develops a new corpus-stylistic approach for systematically analyzing the different narrative strategies of discourse presentation in key pieces of 19th-century narrative fiction. Speech, Writing,"
In Plain Sight
Call Number: Oxford University Press, 2020
"In Plain Sight explores how the poetry of nineteenth-century American women that was once so visible within American culture could have, with the exception of that by Emily Dickinson, so thoroughly disappeared from literary history."
Literature in the Making
Call Number: Oxford University Press, 2015
"Literature in the Making examines modern literature's coalescence and institutionalization in the United States, considered as an instructive instance of a phenomenon that was going global."

A History of American Puritan Literature
Call Number: Cambridge University Press, 2020
"A History of American Puritan Literature is a collaborative effort to create not a singular literary history, but a series of interlocked new histories of American puritan literature."
American Literature and the New Puritan Studies
Call Number: Cambridge University Press, 2017
"This book contains thirteen original essays about Puritan culture in colonial New England. It also records the significant transformation in the field of Puritan studies that has taken place in the last quarter century."
Historical Dictionary of the Puritans
Call Number: Scarecrow Press, 2007
"The Historical Dictionary of Puritans tells the story of Puritanism from its origins until its eventual demise. This is done through a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and several hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on important people, places, and events."

Archer Library

ENG 425 • American Literature I: Begin to 1845: eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

eBook Collections

Explore eBook Collections

Select eBooks

Select eBooks

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.