Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.
Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, has purchased access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale. They are proprietary resources, meaning availability is restricted to Ashland University and OhioLINK users. For this reason, students are required login with their AU credentials to view and use from off campus locations.
Includes general topic research resources.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field. An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, subjects include discrimination, ethnic relations, cultural identity, and ethnic studies.
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Includes religious and theological literature resources.
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies. It provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
Includes more than 721 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 40 different countries.
CPI indexes more than 190 publications including over 100 academic journals and 80 peer-reviewed titles. A majority of the journals covered are unique titles to the database. Prominent subjects in these journals include religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology.
Includes database resources for literature, literary criticisms, and authors.
Humanities Full Text includes academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Produced by MLA, the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages.
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
This database cites records contained in more than 7,000 collections of essays and miscellaneous works in the humanities and social sciences published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore.
This database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. Short Story Index is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877. This Collection was released in five series.
Contains full content over 1,100 American periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and ladies’ magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.