LibGuides: ENG 425 • American Literature I: Begin to 1845: Library Collections

Selected Resources

MAIN General Collection

The Long Walk to Freedom
Call Number: E450.L83 2012
"A compilation of 12 first-person accounts of the runaway slave phenomenon spanning eight decades. Told in the voices of the runaway slaves themselves, these narratives reveal the extraordinary and often innovative ways that these men and women sought freedom and demanded citizenship."
The Strangers Book
Call Number: PS153.N5 P73 2016
""The Strangers Book explores how various nineteenth-century African American writers radically reframed the terms of humanism by redefining what it meant to be a stranger. "
The 1619 Project
Call Number: E441.A15 2021
""The animating idea of The 1619 Project is that our national narrative is more accurately told if we begin not on July 4, 1776, but in late August of 1619, when a ship arrived in Jamestown bearing a cargo of twenty to thirty enslaved people from Africa."
Lyrical Liberators: the American antislavery movement in verse, 1831-1865
Call Number: PS595.S65 L97 2018
"The book collects and annotates works by critically acclaimed writers, commercially successful scribes, and minority voices including those of African Americans and women."
The American Enlightenment, 1750-1820
Call Number: PS193 .F47 1997
"This concise literary history of the American Enlightenment captures the varied and conflicting voices of religious and political conviction in the decades when the new nation was formed. Robert Ferguson’s trenchant interpretation yields new understanding of this pivotal period for American culture"
At Home in Nineteenth-Century America
Call Number: E161 .A8 2015
"At Home in Nineteenth-Century America draws upon advice manuals, architectural designs, personal accounts, popular fiction, advertising images, and reform literature to revisit the variety of places Americans called home."
As a City on a Hill
Call Number: F67.W79 R64 2018
"As a City on a Hill reveals the circuitous, unexpected ways Winthrop’s words came to lodge in American consciousness. At the same time, the book offers a probing reflection on how nationalism encourages the invention of “timeless” texts to straighten out the crooked realities of the past."
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History
Call Number: E184.A1 O95 2018
"The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History brings together established and younger scholars to provide a scholarly overview for those interested in the role of religion and race in American history."

About this page

Overview • Library Catalogs

What is the library catalog? Generally speaking, a library catalog is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection.

Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

OhioLINK Catalog

Expand your search & request books from OhioLINK

Selected Resources

MAIN Juvenile Collection

The 1619 Project: Born on the Water
Call Number: E441 .H343 2021
"Stymied by her unfinished family tree assignment for school, a young girl learns about her ancestors, the consequences of slavery, and the history of Black resistance in the United States."
Middle Passage: White Ships / Black Cargo
Call Number: ND237.F32 A4 1995
"Sixty-four paintings trace the torturous journey of slaves from Africa to the Americas, from their capture at gunpoint to conditions below deck, and depict the cruelty they suffered."
Anne Hutchinson's Way
Call Number: PZ7.A863 Ann 2007
"A fictionalized episode from the life of Anne Hutchinson, who arrived with her family in Massachusetts in 1634, but was soon banished for holding religious meetings and teaching ideas with which Puritan ministers disagreed."

Archer Library

ENG 425 • American Literature I: Begin to 1845: Library Collections

Selected Resources

MAIN General Collection

About this page

Overview • Library Catalogs

Archer Library Catalog

OhioLINK Catalog

Selected Resources

MAIN Juvenile Collection

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.