Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Closer Look @ Genres
Archer Library Collections
Archer Library has children's literature genre resources in the circulating and eBook collections. This page features a sampling of available titles.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Critical Foundations in Young Adult Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2013)
"Pushing the genre forward, Antero Garcia builds on his experiences as a former high school teacher to offer strategies for integrating Young Adult literature in a contemporary critical pedagogy through the use of participatory media."
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2014)
" Children's Literature traces the development of the main genres of children's books one by one, including fables, fantasy, adventure stories, moral tales, family stories, school stories, children's poetry and illustrated and picture books."
Young Adult Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2016)
Cart's up-to-date coverage makes this the perfect resource for YA librarians who want to sharpen their readers'advisory skills, educators and teachers who work with young people, and anyone else who wants to understand where YA lit has been and where it's heading..
Children's Literature in Context
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2011)
"Children's Literature in Context is a clear, accessible and concise introduction to children's literature and its wider contexts. It begins by introducing key issues involved in the study of children's literature and its social, cultural and literary contexts."
The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2010)
"The Routledge Companion to Children's Literature is a vibrant and authoritative exploration of children's literature in all its manifestations. It features a series of essays written by expert contributors who provide an illuminating examination of why children's literature is the way it is."
Children's Literature Genres
Main General Collection
A Family of Readers
Call Number: PN1009.A1 S8795 2010
"Two of the most trusted reviewers in the field join with top authors, illustrators, and critics in the definitive guide to choosing books for children and young adults--and nurturing their love of reading."
Charlotte Huck's Children's Literature: a Brief Guide
Call Number: LB1575.5.U5 K54 2014
"Expertly designed in a vibrant, full-color format, this streamlined text has a strong emphasis on researching, evaluating, and implementing quality books in the classroom, the critical skills needed to search for and select literature."
The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature
Call Number: PN6714 .G734 2014
"The original three-volume anthology The Graphic Canon presented the world's classic literature--from ancient times to the late twentieth century--as eye-popping comics, illustrations, and other visual forms. In this follow-up volume,"
Handbook of Research on Children's and Young Adult Literature
Call Number: PS121 .H22 2011
"Part two introduces analytic frames for studying young adult novels, picturebooks, indigenous literature, graphic novels, and other genres. Chapters include commentary on literary experiences and creative production from renowned authors and illustrators."
Longman Dictionary of Literary Terms
Call Number: PN44.5 .K46 2006
"The Longman Dictionary of Literary Terms is an easy-to-use reference manual that aims to demystify literature and the techniques literary scholars use."