LibGuides: Department Chair Resources: eBooks • Online Collections

Select eBooks & Topics

Most titles have unlimited user access.

How to Chair a Department
Over the course of a typical academic career, most faculty will serve at least one term as chair of a department. It's a leadership and service role that's at the very heart of faculty satisfaction and student success, yet few receive any training on how to do the job. This is a practical, accessible handbook for new and prospective chairs, providing both principles and practices for effective departmental leadership.
Transformational University Leadership
Summary: With a special focus on gender and culture, the authors explore the leadership tactics and strategies presidents use to uplift the University from a regional campus to a tier 1 research powerhouse. Offering strategies, anecdotes, and transferable methods for university leaders seeking to elevate their institution and thrive in the 21st century academic market.
Leading for Tomorrow
Leading for Tomorrow gives readers the tools they need to get the best out of their team, manage conflicts, support student success, and instill a campus culture of innovation that will meet tomorrow's challenges.
Leadership in Higher Education
Leadership in Higher Education explains the fundamental principles that support these practices and provides case examples of people in higher education who demonstrate each one. A core theme that weaves its way through all the chapters is that, whether it's one to one or one to many, leadership is a relationship between those who aspire to lead and those who choose to follow
Degendering Leadership in Higher Education
Institutions that wish to see leadership diversity and that strive toward creating inclusive academic communities need to pay attention to leadership expectations associated with stereotypes that encompass all identities including race, sexuality, ethnicity, age, and religion. This book is a tool for promoting leadership diversity.
Intercultural Mediation and Conflict Management Training
The book serves both as a self-learning tool and provides training material for seminars, workshops, secondary, advanced and higher education and vocational training. It is a valuable contribution to the fields of intercultural conflict mediation and conflict management, intercultural communication, intercultural training and coaching.

How University Budgets Work
How University Budgets Work is a unique introductory guide for the extended academic community. Ultimately, this logical, accessible book provides a working knowledge of how university budgets are produced and implemented, one that enables faculty members and administrators to become more effective in their roles within the university.
An Insider's Guide to University Administration
Applying theory to real, practical examples of university administration, this book provides both prospective and current administrators with an in-depth critical analysis of areas pertinent to college and university administration, including leadership, management, vision, diversity, ethics, and fund-raising.
Resource Management for Colleges and Universities
This book argues that their decision-making cultures and business models are beset by serious flaws. In this audacious book, William F. Massy writes that resource allocation in colleges and universities needs to become more responsive to academic mission, marketplace realities, and the requirements of financial sustainability.
Understanding University Committees
This is the first handbook on how both to manage committees and how to engage effectively as members to achieve departmental or broad institutional goals, and how participation valuably contributes to individual learning and advancement.
How Boards Lead Small Colleges
Integrating case studies with theoretical analyses of college governance, they explain the basic responsibilities of boards while demonstrating how some develop practices that fulfill these responsibilities more effectively than others. The book emphasizes strategic planning and collaboration between the board and central administration—advice useful to those governing colleges and universities of all sizes and strengths.

Understanding Academic Freedom
Part of the acclaimed Higher Ed Leadership Essentials series, this book surveys academic freedom's history and its application in today's universities. Academic freedom is once again at the epicenter of the crisis in higher education.
Paths to the Future of Higher Education
The rapid change that higher education is undergoing is impacting all of the core mission elements: teaching and learning, research, service, and engagement with the external world. Navigating this environment requires understanding of the underlying dynamics, with particular attention to how the issues are affecting the directions higher education will take.
Managing Risk in High-Stakes Faculty Employment Decisions
Understanding the risks involved in hiring new faculty is becoming increasingly important. In Managing Risk in High-Stakes Faculty Employment Decisions Julee T. Flood and Terry Leap critically examine the landscape of US institutions of higher learning and the legal and human resource management practices pertinent to college and university faculty members.
Conflict Management and Dialogue in Higher Education
This book offers conflict management strategies, models, and processes to support college and university personnel in recognizing and managing conflicts and how to build skill sets that can enhance effective communication and address issues strategically.
Inclusive Collegiality and Nontenure-Track Faculty
Focuses on the status and work of full-time non-tenure-track faculty whose ranks are increasing as tenure track faculty make up a smaller percentage of the professoriate. NTTF experience highly uneven and conditional access to collegiality, are often excluded from decision-making spaces, and receive limited respect from their TTF colleagues because of outdated notions that link perceived expertise almost exclusively to scholarship.

Academic Achievement Assessment
This book consists of introduction to academic achievement assessment, international comparison of academic achievement assessment and reference, as well as theoretical system and practice strategy of academic achievement assessment.
Learning Assessment Techniques
College teachers today are under increased pressure to teach effectively and provide evidence of what, and how well, students are learning. An invaluable asset for college teachers of any subject, Learning Assessment Techniques provides a practical framework for seamlessly integrating teaching, learning, and assessment
Emerging Trends in Learning Analytics
This book documents recent attempts to conduct research in learning analytics, present findings and identify areas for further research and development. It highlights current trends, privacy and ethical issues, creative and unique approaches, innovative methods, frameworks, and theoretical and practical aspects of learning analytics.
Big Data on Campus
Big Data on Campus helps readers understand how analytics can support major organizational functions in higher education, including admission decisions, retention and enrollment management, student life and engagement, academic and career advising, student learning and assessment, and academic program planning.
Re-Imagining University Assessment in a Digital World
Treatment of assessment is contemporary and spans notions of ‘assessment for learning’, measurement and the roles of peer and self within assessment. The view of educational technology is broad and includes gaming, learning analytics and new media. This book serves as a reference for best practice and also guides future thinking about new ways of conceptualizing, designing and implementing assessment.

eBooks • Archer Library & OhioLINK

eBook Collections

Off campus access requires user authentication.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
EBSCO eBook Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
This psychology/psychiatry collection includes over 790 popular eBooks in psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, counseling and more. Subjects include Clinical psychology, Cognitive psychology and cognition, Counseling, Developmental psychology, Neuropsychology, Psychopathology, Psychotherapy, and Social psychology.
Titles are supplied by leading publishers and University Presses such as Cambridge Scholars Publishing, De Gruyter, Information Age Publishing, McGraw-Hill Education, Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, and Taylor & Francis
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 2,700+ journals and 55,000+ books published by Springer.
Total content exceeds 5.8 million items. Predominant emphasis is in the sciences, computers, math/statistics, medicine, and business/economics.

Archer Library

Department Chair Resources: eBooks • Online Collections

Select eBooks & Topics

eBooks • Archer Library & OhioLINK

eBook Collections

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.