Explore how to use Archer Library resources in your online course. Here you will find steps for locating and using database articles, identifying and creating permalinks for articles, information concerning copyright and library databases, and differences between DOI and permalinks. Work through the content from left to right, or choose a topic that is of interest to you.
Contact us for help locating items in our collections for your online course. Use the drop-down tab on this page to locate your liaison librarian, email the library at library@ashland.edu, or make an appointment using our online help form.
The What is a Proxy URL? tab provides resources and information related to recent ezproxy updates.
 |
A-Z Database ListAccess the A-Z Database List on Archer Library's website. Directly below the OpenSearch box is a collection of Library Resource links; choose Databases to view the A-Z Database List. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Looking at Database OptionsThere are currently 206 resources available on Archer Library's A-Z list. Entries are listed in alphabetical order. Keep in mind that the list will change as new resources are added and/or removed from the list. Manage the A-Z List by searching for a particular resource, or using one of the drop down menus located at the top of the page. Choose to limit results by Subject, Database Type (e.g., research database or eBook), or Vendor.
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Exploring Database TypesIf you are looking for a specific information or resource type there are seven categories. For example, one category is eBook Collections. To view this collection, select it from the drop down menu and click search. We currently have 28 eBook Collections available to use. Return to the full list by selecting clear filters. |
Yes! It is possible to share articles found in Archer Library databases in Blackboard. To do so, you need a permalink, or persistent link to the item accompanied by the proxy URL. It is simpler than it sounds. In most cases, the database will do the work for you. Below are three examples for locating permalinks. Note that you can click on the image to enlarge for viewing.
 |
Search Results: EBSCOInterested in sharing search results with your students? EBSCO databases provide easy access to a permalink that will direct users to a search. They will be able to see terms selected and further limit and manage the search. How? Select share, located next to page options, and copy the permalink - as is - to your course. Click here to see the example search. |
|
 |
Article Permalink: EBSCOInterested in sharing a specific article with your students? Locate the article, then select permalink from the tools menu. The permalink will display above the article title. Copy and paste the article link into your course. Click here to view the article. AU's proxy URL is included with EBSCO database permalinks. Authentication (username + password) is needed for off-campus access. |
|
 |
Article Permalink: OhioLINKInterested in an EJC article? It is possible to link directly to resources in OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center; permalinks are provided with articles. However, the library's AU's proxy prefix is not automatically added to OL resources. Be sure to add Archer Library's proxy prefix to the front of the OL permalink. It is: https://login.as.opal-libraries.org/login?url= |
Yes! It is possible to share eBooks, even specific chapters in most cases, found in Archer Library eBook Collections in Blackboard Learn courses. As with articles, you need a permalink, or persistent link to the book or chapter accompanied by Archer Library's proxy URL. In most cases, the database will do the work for you. Below are three examples for locating eBook permalinks. Note that you can click on the image to enlarge for viewing.
When choosing an eBook, check for the concurrent user level (how many people can view at the same time). Unlimited user access is best.
 |
EBSCO eBook • Academic CollectionA search for Open Access scholarly publishing returned Open Access Literature in Libraries: Principles & Practices. It is possible to link to this eBook using the permalink. Note that this eBook example has unlimited user access. It is also possible to view and link to a specific chapter. Select the chapter from the table of contents and choose permalink from the top of the page. |
 |
Cambridge CoreA search for OA and scholarly communication returned: Sustainability of Scholarly Information. It is possible to link to the title by using the DOI and adding Archer Library's proxy prefix to the URL. Archer Library's proxy prefix is: https://login.as.opal-libraries.org/login?url= If interested in a specific chapter, choose it from the list, copy the DOI provided, then add the proxy to the URL. Format options to view are provided. ➤ View chapter: Print vs Digital Content and Sustainability Issues |
 |
OhioLINK • Electronic Book CenterA search for OA and scholarly publishing returned: The Business of Scholarly Publishing. To link to the title, select the share button (top of the page), copy the URL, and add Archer Library's proxy prefix. Archer Library's Proxy Prefix is: https://login.as.opal-libraries.org/login?url= If interested in a specific chapter, select READ to view the book and choose a chapter from the table of contents. Use the share button for the link, and add the proxy prefix. |
EZproxy (proxy prefixes and URLs) URLs provide information to servers, letting them know users have rights to view library databases, eBook collections, journals, articles, or online resources. The authentication process provides secure sign-on (SSO) access to proprietary e-resource content.
When working off campus, users will be directed to AU's Microsoft SSO to provide their credentials. This is the same authentication system used by Blackboard, AU email, and other university platforms. If working on campus, access to these resources will be seamless.
Beginning December 17, 2024, Archer Library's EZproxy will be managed by the OPAL Library consortium.
Yes - and no. If you are working with a non-EBSCO database (e.g., Electronic Journal Center or JSTOR), you may need to include the proxy with permalinks. However, if you are using any of the EBSCOhost databases, their permalink option automatically provides the correct access URL with the proxy included.
Archer Library's updated proxy prefix is:
Review the permalink copied from the database (article or eBook) prior to publishing it in Blackboard. If the the link includes the following, all should be well: https://login.as.opal-libraries.org/login?url=
Adding the proxy information to links is easy; place the proxy prefix directly in front of your resource link. Let's look at the article, Library Web Proxy Use Survey Results, by Peter Murray.
Without the proxy prefix, users can only view the article while on campus.
Without proxy • On campus use only
With the proxy prefix, the link will work for off-campus users once they have authenticated.
With proxy • On and off-campus
Contact a librarian for help configuring a link to database resources.
DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, is a unique string of letters and numbers assigned to an article, document, or other resource (the object). The DOI link, often provided with citations, is a "default URL value which is provided from a DOI name" (DOI Handbook, 2016, Glossary). The DOI "provides an actionable, interoperable, persistent link" (DOI Factsheet, 2021), it is often used when citing database articles. Publishers register articles with a DOI Registration Agency resulting in a DOI name and URL being assigned.
Good question; the answer depends on usage purpose. When adding a library database article link to your course, use the permalink generated by the database. It includes proxy information that permits your student to access the resource on or off campus (authentication required). Students citing a database article should use the DOI provided.
Can I use the DOI in my course? The DOI will most often take users to the publisher's website (they are the DOI requestor) and their copy of the article. There is no guarantee of full-text access from the publisher site; students may be prompted to pay for a download. So, yes, you can use the DOI URL in your course. But, you can not be sure free or full-text access is available.
DOI's are often found with a journal articles identifying information, such as ISSN or accession numbers. When using library databases, there are two quick ways to locate an article DOI: (1) the articles detailed record, and (2) the citation record generated by the database.
A closer look at the article Implementing Open Educational Resources in Digital Education, illustrates the two places a DOI is provided within EBSCO's Academic Search Complete.
(1) Article Record |
(2) Article Citation |
|
 |
 |
|
Interested in learning more about Digital Object Identifiers? Here are a few resources:
This section focuses on copyright and using database resources and collections in your course. Why is this important? It is permissible to add database links, such as journals, journal articles, and eBooks, to Blackboard for students. When doing so, students are directed to access the item for individual use. Each student may choose to print, download, or save the resource - again - for individual use.
Professors should NOT download an item then subsequently upload it into their course. Publishers provide this information on the final page of articles. Below are two examples of this statement:
OhioLINK EBC & Cambridge Core have similar policies. Books contain license statements indicating they are provided by the platform for specific use and fall under copyright protection.
OhioLINK EBC accessible use statement covers permitted and prohibited use of their content. "Among the prohibited use is the statement that "you may not reproduce, or distribute any Anthology or any content from Anthology" (OhioLINK Legal, 2021).
Cambridge Core includes materials with different usage permission. Take time to review their legal notice prior to use, even for Open Access and Creative Commons resources. They also specify that users may not "otherwise download, store, reproduce, transmit, display, print, copy, distribute, extract, exploit or use the content" (Cambridge Core, 2021), or "make available any content in any other form or medium" (Cambridge Core, 2021) without written consent.