Skip to Main Content

Archer Library


 

 

Course Content • Can I Use This?: Open Educational Resources

Ashland University Faculty College • Fall 2021

Getting Started with OER


OhioLINK Affordable Learning

Affordable Learning through OhioLINK

Collection of initiatives and resources available from OhioLINK including the OhioLINK Open Course Content Library.

Ohio OpenEd

Ohio OpenEd Collaborative

"Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors."

OER Commons

OER Commons

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

OER Textbooks

Open Staxx

Open Stax

Peer reviewed and openly licensed. Textbooks are "simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education."


Open Textbook Library

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

OER Commons

Open Textbooks: OER Commons

"Whether you are looking for more affordable options for your students, or dynamic content to inspire your own teaching and learning practice," discover resources for K--12 and higher education.

LibreTexts

LibreTexts

"Our open and freely accessible LibreTexts provide a more engaging learning experience for students without the financial burden."


Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg

"Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired."

Saylor Academy Open Textbooks

Explore books that are available to "use, keep, revise, and share under open licenses. Saylor Academy does not own the copyright to any books on this page. Each book’s open license is an agreement between you as the end user and the copyright holder.."

OER Courses


Open Course Library

Open Course Library

A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. Content is stored in Google docs; easy to access, browse and download.


OLI CMU

Open Learning Initiative

Carnegie Mellon: Dozens of college-level courses, and a platform that enables research and experimentation with any aspect of the learning experience.


MIT

MIT Open CourseWare

MIT Open CourseWare is: "a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."


MERLOT

Merlot

Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Defining OER

Open Education Resources

Open Education, as defined by the William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, is used "to encompass the myriad of learning resources, teaching practices and education policies that use the flexibility of OER to provide learners with high quality educational experiences" (HF, 2021).

Open Educational Resources (OER) is further defined by Creative Commons as "teaching, learning, and research materials that are either (a) in the public domain or (b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities– retaining, remixing, revising, reusing and redistributing the resources" (Creative Commons, n.d).

OER Media


Internet Archive

Internet Archive

"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more." An advanced search option allows users to limit collections; review licensing prior to use.


Smithsonian Open Access

Smithsonian Open Access

"Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images." Images from the Smithsonian's 19 museums, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo are included. 


Smithsonian Learning Lab

Smithsonian Learning Lab

"The Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning."

OpenCulture

OpenCulture

"Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community."

"Pixabay

Pixabay

Pixabay shares "copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist."

Academic Library Guides

There's a LibGuide for that!  

Interested in learning more? Explore these academic library guides for additional Open Education Resource (OER) recommendations.

 

 

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.