Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Citation Help
U Wisconsin-Madison -Writing Handbook-APA
Simple, easy to understand tips on citations using APA. From the Writing Center at University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Electronic Reference Formats: APA Style
From APA, the most recent requirements for citing information retrieved electronically (databases, web sites, electronic books, etc.)
Hacker's Research & Documentation Online
The information on this site is also available in a print booklet, Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age, Fourth Edition, by Diana Hacker. Advice for finding, evaluating, and documenting sources.
7 Minute Tutorial on APA
From Harvard Graduate School of Education
The most recent revision from APA directs researchers to use DOIs to identify electronic resources, rather than URLs. (Not all articles have been assigned a DOI)
What is a digital object identifier, or DOI?
A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically.
All DOI numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash. The prefix is a unique number of four or more digits assigned to organizations; the suffix is assigned by the publisher and was designed to be flexible with publisher identification standards.
We recommend that when DOIs are available, you include them for both print and electronic sources. The DOI is typically located on the first page of the electronic journal article, near the copyright notice. The DOI can also be found on the database landing page for the article.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett’s corpus to be published after his death in 1905—the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the firs
Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary
The tenth edition of a standard dictionary.
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of the English Language from the Middle Ages to the present. It lists all English words (about one million - over twice as many as any other dictionary) and defines their meanings at specific times in h
APA Documentation Style Guide from Ashland University Library
APA Documentation Style
This Research Guide provides examples of APA formatting for a variety of resource types. The guide is formatted like this one.