Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Film Catalog (digital video for AU students)
These videos may be viewed directly or downloaded to your computer. This searchable database is from OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons and includes full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences. You will need to log in to view.
Select Criminal Justice Films
To view any of these films you will be asked to log in with your last name and AU ID number. This is just a sample of the available films. Use the Educational and Instructional Video database in the Digital Resource Commons database to find more.
Talking Skull: Forensic Anthropologists
In this program, forensic anthropologist Dr. Michael Charney, medical examiner Dr. Mary Case, and other police experts use facial reconstruction and other forensic techniques to identify bones, clothing, and hair found in the woods as the remains of Bun Chee Nyhuis. They were also able to determine the true source of her fatal skull fracture, causing the charge against her husband of accidental death to be changed to murder. (26 minutes, color) 1998
Battered Women: Under Siege
Why do some men beat- and even kill- the women they profess to love?
The number one cause of fire in the world
Hackers: Outlaws and Angels
This alarming program reveals the daily battle between the Internet's outlaws and the hackers who oppose them by warding off system attacks, training IT professionals and police officers, and watching cyberspace for signs of imminent infowar. Through interviews with frontline personnel from the Department of Defense, NYPD's computer crime squad, private detective firm Kroll Associates, X-Force Threat Analysis Service, and several notorious crackers, the program provides penetrating insights into the millions of hack attacks that occur annually in the U.S.—including one that affected the phone bills of millions and another that left confidential details of the B-1 stealth bomber in the hands of teenagers. The liabilities of wireless networks, the Code Red worm, and online movie piracy are also discussed. A Discovery Channel Production. (51 minutes)
How to Commit the Perfect Murder: Real-World Forensic Science Cases
Exploring both the capabilities and limitations of forensic science, this program guides viewers through real-world murder cases and studies ways a killer might thwart even the most advanced detection methods. Featuring commentary from criminology experts, the program explains techniques used to determine time and cause of death, such as the examination of insects in a corpse—or a pig carcass, if investigators need a "body double" to re-create the crime. The film also demonstrates the difference between a suicidal hanging and a murderous one, tests the viability of an icicle as a murder weapon, and discusses the radiation poisoning of ex-KGB spy Alexander Litvinenko—a possible perfect crime. Original BBC broadcast title: How to Commit the Perfect Murder.
Incriminating Evidence: Forensic Specialists in Action
Two intruders are surprised by a homeowner while committing a B&E, and when they stab him during the getaway, the heavy charge of aggravated burglary is what awaits them if they are identified. This program follows a team of forensic specialists from the crime scene to the laboratory and Scotland Yard as they locate, collect, and examine the evidence that places the perpetrators at the scene of the crime?and puts them behind bars. High-tech analysis of fingerprints, tool marks, footprints, pollen, fibers, and DNA is featured. (25 minutes)
Racial Profiling & Law Enforcement
DWB: Driving While Black. For many African-Americans, simply having dark skin seems to be grounds for being pulled over on the highway and searched for drugs. Police call it "profiling," based on years of successful drug interdiction through traffic stops, but angry and humiliated victims call it "racial profiling"--a blatant form of discrimination--and want it stopped. In part one of this program, ABC News anchor Ted Koppel and correspondent Michel McQueen investigate the issue from the victims' points of view. In part two, Koppel and McQueen look at profiling through the eyes of the police, with special commentary by law professor and former OJ Simpson prosecutor Christopher Darden. Some language may be objectionable. (41 minutes, color)
Law enforcement has changed dramatically over the last decade, and technology is a major reason. This program looks at several cutting-edge systems and devices currently in use by police departments and federal agencies around the country. Some of the crime-fighting technologies featured are fiber-optic surveillance cameras, facial recognition scanners, robotic chassis for bomb disposal, and Shotspotter, a network of acoustic sensors that triangulates the location of gunfire. Among those interviewed is inventor Mike O'Dwyer, whose VLE handgun is the first electronic "smart gun," a pistol that recognizes its owner and can fire lethal and nonlethal rounds. A Discovery Channel Production. Note: 2002 (51 minutes)
To Catch a Killer: The Use and Abuse of Criminal Profiling
In 2001, the last piece of a serial rape/murder case that had tantalized London police for nearly 20 years finally fell into place. In this program, retired FBI profiler Robert Ressler, LAPD psychologist Kris Mohandie, and British law enforcement professionals discuss the history and techniques of criminal profiling within the context of the Railway Rapist crimes that terrorized greater London during the 1980s. In addition, the sensational case of Rachel Nickell, murdered in broad daylight on Wimbledon Common in 1992, illustrates how profiling improperly applied can hijack an investigation. Forensic psychologist Gisli Gudjonsson, of King's College London, provides commentary on that crime.
Whose Law, Whose Order?
In this Fred Friendly Seminar moderated by Harvard Law School's Charles Ogletree, panelists including U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia; Professor Alan Brinkley, of Columbia University; William Webster, former director of the CIA and FBI; William Bratton, former New York City police commissioner; and others confront the contentious relationship between federal control and states' rights in the fictional town of Mayberry. Discussion points include the constitutional limits of the federal government on gun control, the influence of federal funding on state policies, the federalization of state crimes, and the resurgence of organized militias. A Discussion Guide and other resources are located online at www.fredfriendlyseminars.org/federalist. (57 minutes)