Skip to main content

* Criminal Justice Research: Web Sites

This guide was created to help off-campus students learn to do research on criminal justice and access high quality resources such as journal articles, books, e-books, and digital film.

Top 3 Sites Recommended by CJ Professors

Justice

The Innocence Project is a non-profit legal organization that is committed to exonerating wrongly convicted people through the use of DNA testing, and to reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.

 

A resource for information, analysis, and commentary on race and ethnicity as they interact with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. The Clearinghouse contains information and tools for policymakers, practitioners, and advocates to understand racial disparities so they can be addressed, and make the criminal justice system more fair and effective. Courtesy of the Sentencing Project.

 

The Vera Institute of Justice works in collaboration with the government. The Vera Institute of Justice designs and implements innovative programs that encourage just practices in public services and improve the quality of urban life. 

Death Penalty

Statistics

Corrections

Law

Computer Crime

Criminal Justice: US Government Sites

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  • American FactFinder 2
    American FactFinder 2 provides data access and dissemination system for U.S. Census data. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. It supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research. It provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors. Courtesy of the Naval Postgraduate School.

Criminal Justice: US Government Sites

Homicide

  • Homicide Trends in the United States 1980-2008
    This report contains a series of tables and figures that describe homicide patterns and trends in the United States from 1980 through 2008. It also includes overall homicide rates for 2009 and 2010 (for which detailed data are not yet available).
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service - Homicide Data
    NCJRS offers extensive reference and referral services to help you find answers to your questions about crime and justice-related research, policy, and practice.
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Homicide
    The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It has been compiled by the Utilization of Criminal Justice Statistics Project since 1973 and is funded by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.
  • Uniform Crime Reports-Homicide Data
    The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program of the FBI collects supplementary homicide data that provides information regarding the age, sex, and race of the murder victim and offender; the type of weapon used; the relationship of the victim to the offender; and the circumstance surrounding the incident.

Victims

International and Terrorism

Firearms Law

Juvenile Justice

Crime Solutions - Prevention Programs

The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.

National Center for Juvenile Justice

the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) has pursued a mission to improve courts and systems practice and raise awareness of the core issues that touch the lives of many of our nation's children and families.

The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention's Model Programs Guide (MPG)

OJJDP, a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, accomplishes its mission by supporting states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families.

National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD)

Website of this research and advocacy group with annotated links to related sites.  Focus of the group is on children as victims and perpetrator’s of crime and needs of dependent children.

National Youth Gang Center (NYGC)

 also Information on youth gangs, including statistics and probable solutions.

National Youth Gang Center (NYGC)

Information on youth gangs, including statistics and probable solutions.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJOP)

Provides information on grants, news, conferences, and publications.

Organizations & Careers

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS)

http://www.acjs.org

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international organization established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice.  ACJS currently has over 3,800 active members.

 

American Bar Association (ABA)

http://www.abanet.org

Homepage of the largest and most influential national association of attorneys.  Information about the positions taken by the association and model ethics, rules is available at this site. 

 

American Bar Association, Criminal Justice Section

http://www.abanet.org/crimjust

With its unique interdisciplinary membership, the criminal justice section takes primary responsibility for the ABA'’ work on solutions to issues involving crime, criminal law, and the administration of criminal and juvenile justice.

 

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

http://www.aclu.org

The American Civil Liberties Union is the nation’s foremost advocate of individual rights - litigating, legislating, and educating the public on a broad array of issues affecting individual freedom in the United States.

 

American Judicature Society

http://www.ajs.org

Primary areas of focus are judicial independence, ethics in the courts, judicial selection, the jury, court administration, and public understanding of the justice system.

 

American Probation & Parole Association (APPA)

http://www.appa-net.org

APPA is an international association composed of individuals from the United States and Canada actively involved with probation, parole and community-based corrections, in both adult and juvenile sectors.

 

American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS)

http://www.asisonline.org/

ASIS is an international organization for professionals responsible for security, such as corporate managers and directors of security.  In addition, corporate executives and other management personnel, as well as consultants, architects, attorneys, and federal, state, and local law enforcement are active members of ASIS.

 

American Society of Criminology (ASC)

http://www.asc41.com

World Wide Web site of the American Society of Criminology.  The A.S.C. is the pre-eminent organization of academic, theoretical and applied criminology in the United States.  The site has many links of criminological interest.

 

American Sociological Association (ASA)

http://www.asanet.org

World Wide Web site of the American Sociological Association.  The A.S.A. has many members who focus upon criminology and the sociological impact of crime and the criminal justice system.

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

Drug Enforcement