Oxford Research Encyclopedias and Oxford Reference, dictionaries and encyclopedias, are general research databases available to you through Archer Library. Selected links direct you to information about featured people, subjects, and topics covered in ENG 426. If viewing from off campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
Resources on this page include library databases often used for general research. They will help you explore a topic, providing an overview and general information. This is a great way to start and learn more about a subject before delving into research. If viewing from off campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
This biographical database offers in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.
