About the EJC: "The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles" (About EJC, 2024)
EJC defaults to the basic search option on initial access. Enter your search term/s to begin. The search bar will accept:
Note that wildcard searches and other searches that return very large result sets may take longer to appear in your Search Results set.
"Harriet A. Jacobs" interpretation
Harriet A. Jacobs criticism
incidents in the life of a slave girl Harriet Jacobs
Harriet Jacobs and slavery
Slavery and oppression
Harriet a Jacobs or slavery
It is possible to build on a Basic Search by selected Advance Search from the results screen. You will be prompted to start a new search or keep the existing search.
Image: Moving to Advance Search
Access Advanced Search by selecting the link directly below the basic search bar.
Advanced Search interface is comprised of rows, each of which can be configured to search within a specific article descriptor, such as title or abstract. Each row consists of three items:
The bottom of the Advanced Search interface contains a "Not" section - this area provides for excluding items from a search.
The row components work the same, but the search results will not return any articles that match the criteria specified here.
Harriet A. Jacobs AND Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl AND oppression
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl NOT criticisms
Slave narratives AND Harriet Jacobs
Slave narratives NOT fiction
"At it’s most fundamental Open Access is when publications are freely available online to all at no cost and with limited restrictions with regards reuse" (Springer, 2023).
"Open access is a publishing model for scholarly communication that makes research information available to readers at no cost, as opposed to the traditional subscription model in which readers have access to scholarly information by paying a subscription (usually via libraries)" (Open Access, n.d.).
If researching online, open access journals may be part of your search results. With websites to be used in a limited manner, it is useful to know some online academic journals may not be part of a database.
Other publishers offer open access databases and journals as well.