 |
Literary Reference Center Plus |
Literary Reference Center Plus provides information on thousands of authors and their works. It includes contemporary and classic full-text poems, short stories, novels, literary journals, reference books, author biographies, and critical essays (About Literary Reference Center Plus).
When accessing Literary Reference Center Plus from the A to Z Database List, the search screen defaults to advanced search.
Enter your search term, author, works, or both, and scroll down the page to limit your results[1]. Review available Document Types[2]and select Literary Criticism.
Image: Literary Reference Center Plus, Document Type (screen grab).
Document Type Results • Author Examples
It is possible to search for criticisms in specific publications, such as Critical Insights, a "series, which contains hundreds of literary essays written by scholars from around the world" (EBSCO Connect).
Using the advance search screen, enter your term, an author, works, or both [1]. Use the search box option for AND to include Critical Insights [2] as a Source Type.
Image: Literary Reference Center Plus, Critical Insights (screen grab)
Document Type Results • Author Examples
Another publication of interest may be Masterplots, a reference resource that "analyzes the most important works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction" (MasterPlots, Salem Press). If interested in the initial analysis, it possible to add Masterplots to your search.
Using the advance search screen, enter your term, an author, works, or both [1]. Use the search box option for AND to include Masterplots [2] as a Source Type.
Image: Literary Reference Center, Masterplots (screen grab)
Document Type Results • Author Examples
 |
JSTOR |
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. It combines scholarship, open access, and free content to users. Included are journals, books, open access monogrpahics, primary sources, and images (What's in JSTOR).
When accessing JSTOR from the A to Z Database List, the search screen defaults to simple search.
Enter your search term; when results display [1], use Search with Results to identify literary criticisms [2]. Note that once you search within results, there is an option to easily transition to advanced search.
Search within Results • Author Examples
When accessing JSTOR from the A to Z Database List, the search screen defaults to basic search. Choose Advanced Search, located above the search bar.
Enter your initial search term, author, works, or both [1] in the first box. You may choose to include a specific field if desired. Using the Boolean option AND, enter criticism in the second search box [2] and submit.
Advance Search Results • Author Examples
When accessing JSTOR from the A to Z Database List, the search screen defaults to basic search. To browse by subject, locate the Browse menu, top right corner of the page.
From the drop-sown menu [1], select By subject, Journals and Books. Scroll down the page to Humanities and select Language and Literature [2]. Enter a search term to begin; a good place to start is searching for author, author and work, or work.
Language & Literature • Author Examples