LibGuides: ENG 426 • American Literature II: 1845 to 1890: eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks.

Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device.
Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch.

When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

eBook Collections

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important scholarly eBooks from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.
Works purchased by OhioLINK include titles in the subject collections of Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)

I Was Born a Slave
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 1999
Summary: "I Was Born a Slave collects the 20 most significant'slave narratives.'They describe whippings, torture, starvation, resistance, and hairbreadth escapes; slave auctions, kidnappings, and murders; sexual abuse, religious confusion, the struggle of learning to read and write; and the triumphs and difficulties of life as free men and women"
Slavery and Class in the American South
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook, 2019
Summary: "Andrews's far-reaching book shows that status and class played key roles in the self- and social awareness and in the processes of liberation portrayed in the narratives of the most celebrated fugitives from U.S. slavery, such as Frederick Douglass, Harriet Jacobs, William Wells Brown, and William and Ellen Craft."
Maternal Metaphors of Power in African American Women's Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2017
Summary: The author "combines literature, history, criticism, and theory in Maternal Metaphors of Power in African American Women's Literature by offering insight into the historical black experience from slavery to freedom as depicted in the literature of nine female writers."
Classic African American Women's Narratives
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2003
Summary: "Summary: "Classic African American Women's Narratives offers teachers, students, and general readers a one-volume collection of the most memorable and important prose written by African American women before 1865."
The New Slave Narrative : The Battle Over Representations of Contemporary Slavery
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2019
Summary: "The New Slave Narrative reveals an emergent survivor-centered counterdiscourse of collaboration and systemic change that offers an urgent critique of the systems that maintain contemporary slavery, as well as of the human rights industry and the antislavery movement"

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl
Call Number: EBSCI eBook, 2005
Summary: "Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl is the immensely powerful autobiography of Harriet Jacobs, who wrote under a pen name. A feminist work, she uses her experiences to state and restate her belief that though all unhappiness sprung from being a slave, she had to endure worse, being also a woman."

Nathaniel Hawthorne in Context
Call Number: Oxford Univ. Press eBook, 2018
Summary: "This volume provides a comprehensive overview of Nathaniel Hawthorne and demonstrates why he continues to be a critically significant figure in American literature. "
A Historical Guide to Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2001
Summary: "This Historical Guide collects a number of original essays by Hawthorne scholars that place the author in historical context. Like other volumes in the series, A Historical Guide to Nathaniel Hawthorne includes an introduction, a brief biography, a bibliographical essay, and an illustrated chronology of the author's life and times."
The Cambridge Introduction to Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2007
Summary: "This introductory book for students coming to Hawthorne for the first time outlines his life and writings in a clear and accessible style. {The author] explains some of the significant cultural and social movements that influenced Hawthorne's most important writings.
Twice Told Tales
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2010
Summary: "Nathaniel Hawthorne is regarded as one of the most significant American writers of the nineteenth century. This volume collects many of his most famous short works and is a fitting compendium of his literary achievements for newcomers or longtime Hawthorne fans alike."
Hidden in Plain Sight
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2020
Summarh" "Hidden in Plain Sight examines signal nineteenth-century works by Edgar Allan Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Herman Melville, and Joel Chandler Harris to show how writers portrayed a nation founded on the unseen seen of slavery's capitalism."

The House of the Seven Gables

The House of the Seven Gables
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2010
Summary: "In an old, gloomy New England mansion, a woman opens a shop to support her brother, recently returned from prison. She takes on a border, and a distant relative comes to live with them as well. The fragile bond between them is shaken by the secret history of the house and their wealthy cousin who wants to take it from them."

Archer Library

ENG 426 • American Literature II: 1845 to 1890: eBook Collections