LibGuides: ENG 426 • American Literature II: 1845 to 1890: Library Collections

Selected Resources

MAIN General Collection

The House of the Seven Gables
Call Number: PS1861 .A1 1907
Summary: Nathaniel Hawthorne's classic and influential gothic novel exploring concepts of guilt and justice in the wake of the Salem Witch Trials.
American Bloomsbury
Call Number: PS255.C6 C48 2006
Summary: A portrait of five Concord, Massachusetts, writers whose works were at the center of mid-nineteenth-century American thought and literature evaluates their interconnected relationships, influence on each other's works, and complex beliefs.
Nathaniel Hawthorne and His Wife
Call Number: PS1881 .H35 1968 vol 1, vol 2
Summary: "One ot the chief literary events in biographical writings is this work. Not only does its subject recommend it, but the fact that it is written by Mr. Julian Hawthorne, a man of genius himself, and probably the one of all others best able to appreciate his father's genius. "
Harriet Jacobs
Call Number: E444.J17 Y45 2004
Summary: Biography of "19th century African-American writer Harriet Jacobs provides a detailed study of her life under slavery, as a fugitive slave, and in the years following the Civil War, examining trials and triumphs of a woman who created one of the most widely read slave narratives of all time."
Harriet Jacobs and Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl
Call Number: E444.J17 H37 1996
Summary: "This anthology presents a far-ranging compendium of literary and cultural scholarship that is sure to become the primary resource for students and teachers of Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl. Contributors include both established Jacobs scholars and emerging critics."
The Voices of African American Women
Call Number: PS153.N5 J65 1999
Summary: The author "examines the narrative strategies, with particular emphasis on the authorial and narrative voices, of three texts written by African American women: Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs, Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, and The Color Purple by Alice Walker."
Classic African American Women's Narratives
Call Number: PS647.A35 C56 2003
Summary: "Classic African American Women's Narratives offers teachers, students, and general readers a one-volume collection of the most memorable and important prose written by African American women before 1865."

Overview • Library Catalogs

What is library catalog? Generally speaking, it is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection. Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

OhioLINK Catalog

Expand your search & request books from OhioLINK

Select Resources

MAIN Juvenile Collection

Letters from a Slave Girl
Call Number: PZ7.L99556 Le 1992
Summary: "A collection of fictional letters vividly recreate the life and times of Harriet Ann Jacobs, a young slave girl who escaped to freedom in the 1840s and who became a published author and abolitionist."
Do You Know Them?
Call Number: PZ7.1.K4179 Do 2024
Summary: "Inspired by the printed newspaper ads placed by African Americans who were separated from family members by the Civil War, enslavement and emancipation, this moving story follows Lettie who saves every penny she earns for something that could bring her whole family together."

Archer Library

ENG 426 • American Literature II: 1845 to 1890: Library Collections