 |
Archer LibraryAccess the A to Z Database List on Archer Library's home page. Directly below the OpenSearch box is a collection of Library Resource links; choose Databases to view the A to Z List. |
|
 |
A to Z DatabasesThere are currently 215 available resources on Archer Library's A to Z Databases list. Entries are listed in alphabetical order. It is possible to manage the list using one of the three drop down menus located at the top of the page. Choose to limit results by Subject, Database type, and Vendor / Provider, or use the search box.
|
|
 |
Database TypesIf looking for a specific information or resource type (e.g., database or OA), there are seven categories. One category is eBook Collections. To view this collection, select it from the drop down menu. We currently have 28 eBook Collections available to use. Click the clear filters / Browse All Databases button to return to the unfiltered listing. |
 |
Academic Search CompleteIt is possible to save EBSCO Database articles by connecting a Google Drive account. Not sure if you are using an EBSCO database? Select help from the menu, it will identify the database vendor. Or, use the database provider option in A to Z to identify EBSCO databases (there are 105). |
|
 |
Database Tools MenuOnce an article has been selected, an expandable tools menu is visible on the right side of the page. The tool menu includes options such as Google Drive, add to folder (register with EBSCO), Cite, and permalink. Each tool has a specific function. |
|
 |
Google DriveSelect Google Drive to download and save an article in your Ashland Google account, or a personal Google Account. You will need to grant Google rights to make changes to your account in order to complete the process. TIP: Articles formatted as PDF will save more easily than html, though both are feasible options. Need more help? A video tutorial and transcript are available. |
Yes! It is possible to share articles found in Archer Library databases in Blackboard Learn courses. To do so, you need a permalink, or persistent link to the item accompanied by AU's proxy URL. It is simpler than it sounds. In most cases, the database will do the work for you. Below are three examples for locating permalinks.
 |
Search Results: EBSCOInterested in sharing search results with your students? EBSCO databases provide easy access to a permalink that will direct users to a search. They will be able to see terms selected and further limit and manage the search. How? Select share, located next to page options, and copy the permalink - as is - to your course. Click here to see the example search. |
|
 |
Article Permalink: EBSCOInterested in sharing a specific article with your students? Locate the article, then select permalink from the tools menu. The permalink will display above the article title. Copy and paste the article link into your course. Click here to view the article. AU's proxy URL is included with EBSCO database permalinks. Authentication (username + password) is needed for off-campus access. |
|
 |
Article Permalink: OhioLINKInterested in an EJC article? It is possible to link directly to resources in EJC; permalinks are provided with articles. However, AU's proxy URL is not automatically added to OL resources. What is the proxy? It is a link that let's OL know your student has rights to view the database article. Add AU's proxy to the front of the permalink http://proxy.ashland.edu:2048/login?url=
|
What databases are available? Here's a glimpse of the resource list. Choose View More Results and explore the full listing.