Getting Started: Introducing ...

We are going to explore three resources selected from Archer Library’s A to Z Database list.

1. DataPlanet
2. GovInfo
3. Smithsonian Open Access

Three stations, or seating groups, have been arranged; each station introduces you to a database possible match.  A profile card is provided with each database.  You will find the following details:

• Database Name and Age: Coverage date and/or update frequency
• About Me: Introduction and description
• My Likes:  Database focus subject area 
• I'm Seeking: Research interests

Need a closer look at the profile?  Click on the image or profile link to view a full-size PDF.

Not sure how to start the conversation? Review suggested conversation starters for ideas.

Databasing Around

You will have 3 – 5 minutes to explore the database identified at each station.

When time’s up a bell will sound; you then have 2 minutes to review your selection – take good notes - before rotating to the next station.

The activity will continue until each group rotated to and evaluated all three databases.

It is a Match?

While reviewing, consider the following:

• Is the database easy to use?
• Were you able to modify search results?
• How would it support your research?
• Who would you recommend use this database?

Session Handout: Notes & Discussion

Here's a copy of the session handout (PDF).  It includes each databases profile information and conversation starters in text-only format, provides an area for taking notes while determining if you've made a match, and offers a database profile table for thoughts on your final station resource.  Did you make a match?