Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.
As a member of OhioLINK, Archer Library has purchased access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale. They are proprietary resources, meaning availability is restricted to Ashland University and OhioLINK users. For this reason, students are required login with their AU credentials to view and use from off campus locations.
Multidisciplinary database and newspaper resources.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
A current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics. Contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, and government information.
Database resources for literature, film, and analysis.
Covers a full range of disciplines within the arts and humanities. Includes complete indexing of over 2,300 journals as well as selected indexing from 250 additional journals. Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a component of the Web of Knowledge database platform and is updated weekly.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
This database cites records contained in more than 7,000 collections of essays and miscellaneous works in the humanities and social sciences published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Comprehensive collection of full text from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies. Subjects Include Cinematography, Film and television theory, Preservation and restoration, Production Reviews, Screenwriting, and Technical aspects.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument).
An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.