LibGuides: ENG 371 • Literature & Film [Grady]: Citations & General Reference

Citation Resources

MLA Style

MLA Handbook
LB2369 .G53 2016
Copies are available in Archer Library's Reference, Reserves, and Ready Reference collections.

General Reference

Library Databases

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
OED entries describe the origin, meaning, and history of each word by analyzing evidence of usage from the earliest known to the most recent. Currently there are almost 850,000 definitions in the dictionary, and around 15,000 definitions are added each year.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
These encyclopedias provide authoritative, objective overviews of significant topics. (Oxford University Press).
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Of the several hundred reference works on the site more than 60 are accessible based on purchase by OhioLINK. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This biographical database offers in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Documents include biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries. Included in OneSearch
Merriam Webster Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full access to content of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary as well as that of a thesaurus, Spanish-English dictionary, and medical dictionary.

Purdue OWL: Research Resources

Research Overview: Types of Sources
"This section lists the types of sources most frequently used in academic research and describes the sort of information that each commonly offers"
Citation: URLs vs. DOIs
"This resource explains the difference between URLs and DOIs and briefly describes how to incorporate either form of information into your citations."
Strategies for Fair Use
"This resource provides some legal information about the US Copyright law including fair use but not legal advice. Anyone dealing with a specific legal issue or dilemma should contact a lawyer. Anyone making decisions about using multimedia in a class project should first consult the usage policy of their school or institution."
Research & Citation Resources
"These OWL resources will help you use the research you have conducted in your documents. This area includes material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as material on how to avoid plagiarism."
OWL Exercises
When working with the resource, "you may also print the exercises and the exercise answers by using the "Print this Resource" button."

Annotated Bibliography

Resources for Annotated Bibliographies

The Writing and Communication Center (WCC)
Ashland University's WCC: "The Writing and Communication Center can help not only with your writing, but also with project presentations, speeches, group projects and presentations, poster presentations and other digital communication assignments."
Annotated Bibliography Samples
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). Explore sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project.
Excelsior OWL: Annotated Bibliography
Excelsior University's Online Writing Lab: Tips and basic structures for writing an annotated bibliography.
Writing Center UNC Chapel Hill: Annotated Bibliographies
Page provides information on "why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them"
WISC: Annotated Bibliography
About the site: "An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources, each of which is followed by a brief note or “annotation.”

Archer Library

ENG 371 • Literature & Film [Grady]: Citations & General Reference

Citation Resources

MLA Style

General Reference

Library Databases

Purdue OWL: Research Resources

Annotated Bibliography

Resources for Annotated Bibliographies

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.