LibGuides: EDAE 403 • Assessment of Workforce Development: Databases & Journals

Database Recommendations

Business Databases

Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs - providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to more than 6,150 authoritative cases from over 120 countries.
Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. The platform allows for easy browsing, downloads, and sharing, and most cases include teaching notes and discussion questions to ensure effective classroom use.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, marketing and beyond. Content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis, and country economic reports.
Business Source Complete provides access to 1,825 active full-text journals. It includes rigorous curation and indexing of OA journals, 1,310 journals with searchable cited references, and Ahead of Print content for relevant titles from key publishers.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.
It also includes more than 600,000 corporate names with references to specific industries and countries.
Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance and organizational behavior. It contains hundreds of thousands of records from industry-leading journals and magazines.
Subjects include personnel management, human capital, industrial relations, employee motivation, corporate culture, recruitment, affirmative action programs, discrimination, and diversity.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online offers a wealth of textual detail on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers, and directors. Note: This resources will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas (currently available) and will remain available through June 2025.
It includes financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive U.S. companies and over 300,000 annual reports from globally listed companies. Archived reports for over 10 years are available. Daily updates on confirmed executives from all U.S. traded companies featuring over 150,000 profiles on current and former executives including executive biographies and compensation information are provided.
Small Business Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Small Business Source offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to understand and address a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans.
Small Business Source offers a collection of state-specific resources with demographic data and other information to meet the needs of small business owners and entrepreneurs. Business videos include interviews, lessons learned, lectures and how-to tips to foster success in all aspects of managing a business.

Education & Psychology

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes a selection of active full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
ERIC also includes an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,800 terms. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
ERIC: Government Portal This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library providing unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for education resources. it includes Indexed documents include journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials
Some full text is included; for fuller access to full text use ERIC in the EBSCO interface or use OneSearch. (U.S. Dept. of Education). Hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. Dates covered: 1966-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, and flags. Content includes 1,579 full-text magazines and journals, and 55,000 full-text primary source documents.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Includes over 700+ abstracted/indexed journals, and 450 full-text journals. Also contains over 200 educational reports. This database is a subset of Education Research Complete. Dates covered: 1963-present (plus some older content).

About Journals

Journal Overview •

Journals presented here are currently available in Archer Library databases. They are a starting place for your research. Be sure to evaluate individual articles on their own merit prior to use.

Journal Terms •

Publishers use terms to define availability of full text and range of publication dates. For example, a title that is embargoed may experience delays for full text availability.

Journal Finder •

Looking for a particular journal not on this list? Use Archer Library's Journal finder.

Journals to Consider

Archer Library

EDAE 403 • Assessment of Workforce Development: Databases & Journals

Database Recommendations

Business Databases

Education & Psychology

Multidisciplinary Databases

About Journals

Journal Overview •

Journal Terms •

Journal Finder •

Journals to Consider

Workforce Development

Education & Adult Education

Human Resources

Organizational Behavior

Career

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.