LibGuides: Nursing 420 Community Assessment: Articles, Journals & Databases

Interlibrary Loan Articles

We offer free interlibrary loan service for articles that are not available through our databases. Interlibrary loan articles will be emailed to you or mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.

Interlibrary Loan Requests

Medical Image Databases

WebPath Internet Pathology Laboratory
From University of Utah this source includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items .
Atlas of the Body
Simple anatomy and medical illustrations from the Americam Medical Association.
Public Health Image Library

Alternate Database access from off-campus

Sometimes there are difficulties with accessing databases from off-campus.

No worries! There is a fast and easy workaround. Simply log in through OhioLINK, rather than Ashland. Once you have logged in, you can move from database to database. Use either the basic OhioLINK login or use the second link for OhioLINK nursing databases.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus [Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature] (EBSCO)
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals,and publications from the National League for Nursing.
CINAHL Tutorial
Many of the tips and strategies in this tutorial also apply to the Health Source Nursing and other EBSCO databases.
Health Source--Nursing Academic (EBSCO)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 650 journals.

Medical Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
MEDLINE indexes authoritative research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed Central (with full text)
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related reso
PubMed Tutorial: Simple Search
PubMed Tutorial: Medical Subject (MeSH) Search

Consumer Health and Alternative Health

Health Source--Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals. Also inclu
Alt Health Watch (EBSCO)
Alt Health Watch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 170 international, and often peer reviewed, reports,
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Natural & Alternative Treatments contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Includes more than 70 nursing journals along with hundreds of journals in medicine, psychology, and a wide range of other fields. All journals are scholarly; all articles are full-text.
Academic Search Complete

Psychology Databases

App for CINAHL & other EBSCO brand databases

There is an app for some of the EBSCO databases, including CINAHL.

Ebscohost Mobile Access Instructions:

Search CINAHL via EBSCOhost Mobile.

EBSCOhost Mobile includes:

Basic Searching
HTML and PDF Full Text
Search Modes
Limiters
Image Quick View
Image Collection (depending on the database that has been selected)
E-mailing articles
Preferences
Multi-database Searching

Database Tutorials

CINAHL Tutorial (EBSCO brand database)
Many of the tips and strategies in this tutorial also apply to the Health Source Nursing and other EBSCO databases.
PubMed Tutorial: Simple Search
PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®).
PubMed Tutorial: Medical Subject (MeSH) Search
MeSH is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles for PubMed & Medline. Use this tutorial to learn how to make the most use of Subject terms when searching PubMed.

Subject Search or Keyword Search?

Subject Search or Keyword Search

Archer Library

Nursing 420 Community Assessment: Articles, Journals & Databases