LibGuides: Nursing 420 Community Assessment: Web Sites

Nonprofits

Annie E. Casey Foundation
Includes Kids Count, a great source for demographic, education, health and safety data on children in the U.S.
Foundation Center PubHub
online catalog of annotated links to thousands of research reports, case studies, issue briefs, literature reviews, and annual reports published or funded by U.S. foundations.
Policy Archive
digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It collects and disseminates summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
Rand Corporation
research reports and commentary on topics covering population & aging, child policy, health & healthcare, and substance abuse.
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
information on health care policy and reform with factsheets, statistics, tutorials, polls, maps and reports.
Pew Charitable Trusts Resource Library
research on Hispanics in America, Children and Youth, Education, Health, and State Policy and Performance.

Homelessness

Homeless Populations and Subpopulations (Ohio)
statistics for Ohio's Continuum of Care program
Information Resources on Ohio Homelessness
From the Coalition on Homelessness and Housing in Ohio (COHHIO).
2015 Ohio Homelessness Report (COHHIO)
2013 Annual Homeless Assessment Report

Elder Abuse

Elder Abuse
National Institute of Justice

Basic Resources

Health, United States
Health, United States is a CDC annual report on trends in health statistics.
Healthy People.gov
provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.This resource is published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It identifies health improvement goals and objectives for the country to reach by the year 2020. These objectives may be incorporated into regional health departments,

Regional sources

Ohio Dept. of Health
Ohio County Profiles
The Ohio Development Services Agency periodically publishes county profiles. The profiles include information related to the demographic characteristics, land use, employment statistics, and economic activity. The information comes from the U.S. Census Bureau and is summarized into a 5-page document by the Ohio Development Services Agency.
Mansfield/Ontario/Richland County Health Department
Includes contacts and assessments (with stats).
Holmes County General Health District.
Includes a page of data and statistics
Wayne County Combined Health District

General Community Information

Financing Healthcare in Ohio

Health Statistics

Aging Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
This agency is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The National Center’s website provides statistical information about the health of Americans.
WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
Now a part of Global Health Observatory (GHO). Look for
Health tab.
Federal Agencies with Statistical Programs
List of links from relevant agencies.

Federal sites

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)
CFDA provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments, federally-recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories of the United States, profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions, specialized groups, and individuals.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
HHS is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Social Security Online
Visit for information about retirement, veterans benefits, medicare, and other social security programs.
Healthy People 2020
This resource is published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It identifies health improvement goals and objectives for the country to reach by the year 2020. These objectives may be incorporated into regional health departments,

THOMASIn the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress. Contains information about federal legislators, bills, laws, Congress, Congressional members and the legislative process.

Web sites

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Published by the Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this report presents 38 key indicators in the areas of family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

Child Abuse and Neglect Digital Library

canDL is a "database of citations of works related to the National Data Archive of Child Abuse and Neglect at Cornell University and to secondary research. It is a changing source that we have decided to share it in its current state, and will be progressively adding citations."

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices

The the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration has created this database of interventions "to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities".

US Voting Maps

Voting America
Voting America encourages users to think about US political history by allowing two types of comparison. Video analysis and animations of a single type of map--say, measuring the winner of presidential elections at the county level--allow for comparisons across time.

Archer Library

Nursing 420 Community Assessment: Web Sites