LibGuides: Qualitative Research: Citation &amp; Reference

Citation Resources

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed)
BF76.7 .P83 2020
Copies are available in AU Library's Main General Collection (circulates), Reserves (limited circulation) & Reference (library use only), and ATS Library

MLA Handbook
LB2369 .G53 2016
Library use only copies are available in Reference, Reserves, and Ready Reference

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, & Dissertations
LB2369 .T8 2018
Copies are located in the MAIN General and MAIN Reference collections.

Writing a Literature Review: Purdue OWL
"A literature review is a document or section of a document that collects key sources on a topic and discusses those sources in conversation with each other (also called synthesis)."
Research Overview: Types of Sources
"This section lists the types of sources most frequently used in academic research and describes the sort of information that each commonly offers"
Citation: URLs vs. DOIs
"This resource explains the difference between URLs and DOIs and briefly describes how to incorporate either form of information into your citations."

The Social Sciences
The New Walford Guide to Reference Resources
Ebsco eBook (2008) | AU Login required
Research Methods in Language and Education
Ebsco eBook (2017) | AU Login required

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
OED entries describe the origin, meaning, and history of each word by analyzing evidence of usage from the earliest known to the most recent. Currently there are almost 850,000 definitions in the dictionary, and around 15,000 definitions are added each year.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
These encyclopedias provide authoritative, objective overviews of significant topics. (Oxford University Press).
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Of the several hundred reference works on the site more than 60 are accessible based on purchase by OhioLINK. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)