Skip to main content

OneSearch Basics: Locating Juvenile Books

An overview of AU Library's OneSearch with resources, tutorials & help

Locating Juvenile Books in OneSearch

OneSearch & Juvenile Books

Yes! You can use OneSearch to locate juvenile books (children's books) in the AU Library collection.
 

AU Juvenile OneSearch


Locate the OneSearch box on AU Library's home page.

Enter the book title or topic you are interested in finding in the box and click the search button to continue.

For this example, we are searching for a wordless picture book.

 

Search Results

Items returned include journal articles and books about wordless picture books, items available in AU Library and throughout OhioLINK, and wordless picture books available in AU Library's collection (second floor).

 

Juvenile OneSearch results

 

In order to locate picture books in AU Library's juvenile collection, refine your search results.

Limit To: Consider the limit to option and choose a publication date range. Slide the button and update publication year range, or enter a specific date.


Refine Results

Location:  To find wordless picture books in AU Library's juvenile collection, limit the location to AU Juvenile. Scroll down the page and select location, click open options if they are not immediately visible.


Location show more


Show More: Click on show more, a new window will open with additional location options. Scroll down the list, find and select Au Juvenile.


AU Juvenile


Click update to process the location selection. It may take a short time to update the list.


Search Results

View your search results! The updated list displays juvenile book (1-20 of 29) titles classified as wordless picture books.

 

Juvenile books

 

Working with Search Results

The initial wordless picture book search term is viewable at the top of the page and with current search information. Search results list includes (1) the number of titles currently available in AU Library's juvenile collection, (2)  search terms and limiters used to refine the search, and (3) the location, call number, and status / availability of each title.


Need help?

Stop in the Instructional Resource Center, AU Library second floor, for help locating a childrens book.

Juvenile Books in OneSearch

OneSearch Results

After limiting OneSearch location results to AU Juvenile, book information provided reflects what is available in AU Library catalog.

AU Juvenile books

Book title (1) is displayed with a cover image; information including (2) author, illustrator, publication year, and subjects are present; and AU Library catalog (3) location, call number, and status are detailed.

Title Details

Learn more about each book by clicking on the title.

In addition to author and illustrator, you will find physical description (1 vol unpaged), linked subject terms, holdings information, database description (AU Library catalog), and the call number.

 

Title Details

Use the Related Information links or scroll past title information to view Reviews of this Title, Similar Books, and Other Books by this Author.

 

Reviews of this Title

When working in AU Library catalog, book reviews are accessed by clicking on the book cover image. In OneSearch, Reviews of this Title are book reviews located in journals indexed by OneSearch.
 

Reviews of this Title

Reviews of this Title: Choose a review from the list and click to view. In this example, the review source selected is School Library Journal

Full text review

Detailed record will provide PDF or HTML full-text of the review when available from the journal. In this example, HMLT full-text is available from School Library Journal.

Related Information

Use related information options Similar Books and Other Books by this Author to expand your search as needed. When using these tools, take time to use the magnifying glass icon to preview title location. If the Database description is not Ashland University Library Catalog, it will need to be requested via OhioLINK.

Similar Books

Similar Books: Scroll through book covers to view titles with similar topics or subjects. In this example, Bow Wow's Nightmare Neighbors is available through OhioLINK.

Other Books

Other Books by this Author: Scroll through book covers to view other titles written by the same author. In this example, What Makes the Seasons? is an AU Library children's book.