OneSearch is a useful first step for your search. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak. It allow you to identify relevant resources—books, e-books, and articles—from one place without having to choose among databases or the library catalogs.
 

OneSearch is one step in the research process.
Why? OneSearch does not:

• Cover all the databases to which AU Library subscribes
• Have advanced search and usage features offered by other databases, such as MedLINE or PsycINFO.

OneSearch + Databases

If you need to conduct a comprehensive search, such as an in-depth literature review, you should search individual databases, as well as OneSearch.

As you become more proficient in the research process of your major, you will want to grow more familiar with mastering the discipline-specific databases.

OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is incredibly useful when you just need basic information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.

OneSearch is a great tool when you think you have exhausted all other sources and want to verify you have not overlooked a relevant database or book.

OneSearch will return a large number of results with each initial search. Take advantage of the limit options on the left sidebar of the results screen.

• Publication Date: Choose a specific year or date range.
• Source Type: Limit to academic journals, e-books, reviews, etc.
• Location:  View results AU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK catalog.
• Publisher or Publication: Limit to a specific publisher or publication.
• Collection: Select a collection such as OhioLINK music center or ETD
• Catalogs & Databases: Select a database such as JSTOR or ATLA
• Subject: Choose from provided subtopics to refine your search

Access to resources in OneSearch is available to Ashland University students, faculty and staff.  Use your AU username and password, the same credentials used to access Blackboard and AU gmail, to authenticate from off-campus.

OneSearch searches more than article databases!

Books, DVDs, CDs, etc.

• AU Library Catalog
• OhioLINK Central Catalog

Electronic Books Collection

• ACLS Humanities 
• OhioLINK Scholarly & Reference Collection
• OhioLINK American & English Literature Collection
• eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
• eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Digital Film and other Digitalized Material

• Educational Films for Humanities & Sciences (includes Ambrose)
• Physics Demonstrations
• Sanborn Maps
• Saskia Art History
• Electronic Theses and Dissertations (OhioLINK)
• OhioLINK Music Center