Skip to main content

OneSearch Basics: Locating e-books

An overview of AU Library's OneSearch with resources, tutorials & help

Locate E-books: Easy as 1, 2, 3

Use OneSearch to locate e-books available in AU Library's collection.

Why? Some of our e-book subscriptions are not located in the AU Library or OhioLINK catalogs.

 

OneSearch


To begin, locate the OneSearch box on AU Library's home page.
Click the search button without entering any search terms.

Scroll down the page to view Search Options

Limit your results using location and choose Electronic Collection from the list (it is alphabetical). You will see All, Ashland University Library Catalog, Columbus, and then Electronic Collection.
 

Search Options

Enter your search term and click search to continue.
 

search term

 

Refine search results

Limit to Publication date: Take time to refine your results by selecting a publication date range.  Drag the button to update year, or enter the publication date range desired.  Keep in mind, more limiters selected means fewer results returned.

publication date

Source Type:  Limit results by selecting a specific source type. Scroll down the page, click on show more. A new window will open displaying additional choices, scroll down and choose ebooks from the list.

Click update to process the request and update your list.
 

source type

Search Results

View your search results! The list will include AU Library ebooks, OhioLINK ebooks, and other electronic publications such as Government Documents (AU Library is a government depository library). You will have access to viewing ebook results in PDF or via link connecting you to an ebook database. 

If viewing from off campus, authentication will be required.  Login using your AU network username and password. Need help with login? View Connecting from Off Campus on the AU Library web site.

results

Working with Search Results

Search results displayed include the number of items returned with your search (1), current search parameters (2), and limit options selected (3). Items are listed by relevance, often displaying the newest item first. At any time, revise selected limiters (such as expanding the publication date range) to update your search. 

Locating E-books: Another Option

Use OneSearch to locate e-books available in AU Library's collection.

Why? Some of our e-book subscriptions are not located in the AU Library or OhioLINK catalogs.

 

OneSearch


Locate the OneSearch box on AU Library's home page. What if I already entered a search term? Click the search button to continue.

On the results screen, choose Advanced Search to limit results to AU Library's electronic collection.

advanced search

Scroll down the page to view Search Options

Limit results using location and choose Electronic Collection from the list (it is alphabetical). You will see All, Ashland University Library Catalog, Columbus, and then Electronic Collection.

Click search to continue
 

Search Options

Refine search results

Limit to Publication date: Take time to refine your results by selecting a publication date range.  Drag the button to update year, or enter the publication date range desired.  Keep in mind, more limiters selected means fewer results returned.

publication date

Source Type:  Limit results by selecting a specific source type. Scroll down the page, click on show more. A new window will open displaying additional choices, scroll down and choose ebooks from the list.

Click update to process the request and update your list.
 

source type

Search Results

View your search results! The list will include AU Library ebooks, OhioLINK ebooks, and other electronic publications such as Government Documents (AU Library is a government depository library). You will have access to viewing ebook results in PDF or via link connecting you to an ebook database. 

If viewing from off campus, authentication will be required.  Login using your AU network username and password. Need help with login? View Connecting from Off Campus on the AU Library web site.

results

Working with Search Results

Search results displayed include the number of items returned with your search (1), current search parameters (2), and limit options selected (3). Items are listed by relevance, often displaying the newest item first. At any time, revise selected limiters (such as expanding the publication date range) to update your search.