Gale In Context

Working with Gale's Opposing Viewpoints databases.

Database Overview

Opposing Viewpoints is a cross-curricular database covering social issues and current events. It balanced views, information, and resources for users to "explore all sides of an issue" (Gale, 2022), allowing  and draw their own conclusions. Information and resource formats include research articles, periodicals, newspapers, commentary, videos, and audio.

• Opposing Viewpoints is a great starting point for research, providing users to start building an argument and subsequently move forward with research in other databases.
• Viewpoint essays are from authoritative sources; all resources are vetted and go beyond basics of pros and cons.

Main Page • Basic Search

There are three 3 key areas on the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints home page:  (1) Basic and advanced search, (2) Issues of Interest, and (3) browsing available issues.

Image: Screen grab of Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints Databases

Conducting & Managing a Search

Returning to our topic of Bigfoot (it should be one word)

We will use Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints to locate information about our topic. Search process and strategies will include: 

• Conduct a basic search and examine content types.
• Apply database filters to refine search results.
• Explore topic finder; identity keywords and narrow search results.
• Review available database tools for citations, printing, and saving articles.
• Use the explore option to locate related subjects, topics, and documents.
• Select article, newspaper, and audio content types to view and evaluate.

➤ Next, Concept Maps & Research

Concept Maps & Research

Developing search strategies with concept maps.

Image: Bigfoot Concept Map example.

What is a Concept Map?

A concept map is a visual representation of information. It is a diagram that suggests connections between topics and subtopics or concepts and ideas. Developing and using a concept map during research will help to strategically plan your research by identifying potential keywords and search topics.

There are different types of concept maps such as flow-charts, Venn diagrams, and hierarchy maps. The topic finder in Opposing Viewpoints provided visualization of words and subjects found in search results, presenting them in a tile and wheel format. We will be using a spider, or semantic, concept map branch out from a main idea.

Bigfoot Concept Map

The Bigfoot concept map on this page is an example of a simple spider map visualizing connections between our search results for Bigfoot. 

Bigfoot

• Yeti
  • Bears
  • Abominable Snowman
  • Himalayas
• Sasquatch
  • Animal
  • Idaho Woods
  • California 
• Bigfoot Hoax
• Bigfoot Hunters

➤ Next, Putting it all together!

Opposing Viewpoints • Topic Search Activity

Work in pairs exploring and mapping a research topic.

Image: Blank concept map for research activity

Opposing Viewpoint • Issue

Developing a basic spider concept map for research.

Navigate to the A -Z Database List, or use the database tab on this guide, and select the Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints. With a partner, browse both the featured issues and full issues list and select a category to find information about a topic of interest.

Answer the following questions about your topic.

1. Select a Topic
2. Identify Overview Key Points
3. Review the Critical Thinking Questions

Determine a viewpoint (argument) to research on your selected issue. Consider the following questions while gathering resources and information:

• Are there featured viewpoints available? How do they support your topic?
• What content is appropriate for your topic/subject argument?
• Explore related topics presented. Do any support your concept or argument?

Create a Concept Map

Making research connections.

Getting Started: Use the blank concept map to plot your research plan.

• Enter your topic (main idea) into center circle of the concept map.
• Connect supporting or related topics to your main idea; enter them into the dark gray circle.
• Conduct a search using a supporting concept or term. Enter corresponding concepts to the light gray circle.
• Spin your spider web; insert additional connections to the concept map as needed.

Activity Resources

These resources are provided during the session.