Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful tool providing students the ability to craft, modify, and limit search results to find credible information.
Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, provides students with access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, Gale, and Ithaka (JStor). These proprietary resources are restricted to select users. Because of this restriction, off campus use requires login with AU credentials.
Research starters are short summaries and authoritative overviews of popular research and discipline-specific topics. Information provided in a research starter may be an entry from an encyclopedia, credible resources curated by database editors, and reference databases. They are a starting point for more in-depth research on a topic and often help students determine if the topic selected is appropriate.
Research starters will provide an abstract and contain links to relevant journal and newspaper articles, images, videos, and audio clips. Citations for reference are provided with research results.
Image 1: OneSearch Research Starter • Click to view full sized.
Image 2: Opposing Viewpoints Issue • Click to view full sized.
Image 3: Points of View Reference Overview • Click to view full sized.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument).
Image: OneSearch & Library Resources Box, Archer Library
OneSearch is a comprehensive search tool providing access to the library catalog and databases using a single search box. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak, allowing users to identify a wide variety of resources - books, e-books, and articles.
➤ OneSearch can save time and lead you to resources that may otherwise be overlooked. It is useful for locating information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.
➤ OneSearch can be overwhelming due to the sheer volume of items returned with a single search. Take time to focus search results using filters provided.