Collection item: "Beowulf is the longest epic poem in Old English, the language spoken in Anglo-Saxon England before the Norman Conquest. More than 3,000 lines long, Beowulf relates the exploits of its eponymous hero, and his successive battles with a monster named Grendel, with Grendel’s revengeful mother, and with a dragon which was guarding a hoard of treasure."

Collection Item: "Victoria Symons puzzles out the meaning of monsters in Beowulf, comparing the hero with Grendel, Grendel's mother and the dragon."

Collection Item: "This volume, containing the unique medieval copy of Beowulf and other important texts in Old English, comprises two manuscripts of different origin and date, bound together for Sir Robert Cotton (b. 1571, d. 1631)"

Collection Item: "Hetta Howes tracks the many appearances of King Arthur, from a 9th-century history to a Hollywood blockbuster, via the works of Chrétien de Troyes, Thomas Malory and the author of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight."

The Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

Harvard University: Includes audio files

Collection Item: "David Crystal explains how Middle English developed from Old English, changing its grammar, pronunciation and spelling and borrowing words from French and Latin."

Collection Item: "While many writers of the Middle Ages, such as Marie de France or the Gawain-poet, remain obscure or anonymous Geoffrey Chaucer is a different case. As well as being – arguably – the greatest poet of the Middle English period, he was also a public servant who worked as a soldier, diplomat, comptroller of customs, justice of the peace, clerk of works and a forest official – so his life is well represented in surviving documents."

Collection Item: "The Ellesmere Manuscript is one of the most famous manuscripts of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales. It is one of the earliest manuscripts of The Canterbury Tales, having been made in the first decade of the 15th century, and is also richly illustrated."

This site: "Provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages."