LibGuides: ENG 401 • Literature of Early England: Databases

About this Page

What is a Database?

Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.

As a member of OhioLINK, Archer Library has purchased access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale. They are proprietary resources, meaning availability is restricted to Ashland University and OhioLINK users. For this reason, students are required login with their AU credentials to view and use from off campus locations.

Select Databases

Getting Started

Multidisciplinary database resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Subjects include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Select Databases

Women & Gender Studies

Starting point for exploring gender roles in literature.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations, and more.
Access to more than 921,000 records, thousands of links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web, and hundreds of links to carefully selected and important websites. Dates covered: 1930s-present (plus some older content).
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, gender, and masculinity during the Middle Ages
Time period covered is 450-1500, with Russia extending to 1613 (beginning of Romanov dynasty). Contains over 20,000 records culled from more than 500 journals plus published essay collections. Covers publications in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. (Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship) Dates covered: 1996-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Contains 871,000+ records based upon content from over 2,000 different periodicals. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites, web documents, and more. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch

Select Databases

Assignment Specific Resources

Database resources for author studies, literature, and analysis.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers a full range of disciplines within the arts and humanities.Includes complete indexing of over 2,300 journals as well as selected indexing from 250 additional journals
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Updated weekly. Dates covered: 1975-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, secondary education, higher education, and distance education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This database cites records contained in more than 7,000 collections of essays and miscellaneous works in the humanities and social sciences published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Years covered: 1985-present.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
It compasses all fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion, and more. EBSCO has the premier and most highly regarded scholarly vocabularies curated by subject matter experts.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
It compasses all fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion, and more. EBSCO has the premier and most highly regarded scholarly vocabularies curated by subject matter experts.
Humanities with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984.
The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio, and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
It provides a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. Also included are lesson plans and literary study guides plus full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and children's literature.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues.
This database covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements. Dates covered: 1949-present. Included in OneSearch

Archer Library

ENG 401 • Literature of Early England: Databases

About this Page

What is a Database?

Select Databases

Getting Started

Select Databases

Women & Gender Studies

Select Databases

Assignment Specific Resources

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.